Timequake by Kurt Vonnegut
Look inside with Google Book Preview
By Kurt Vonnegut


By (author) See other recent books by Kurt Vonnegut
Format: Paperback

Normal Price: $14.99
Your Price: $13.49 AUD, inc. GST
Shipping: $7.95 per order
You Save: $1.50! (10% off normal price)
Plus...earn $0.67 in Boomerang Bucks
Availability: Available Available, ships in 7-10 days

Timequake by Kurt Vonnegut

Book Description

According to science-fiction writer Kilgore Trout, a global timequake will occur in New York City on 13th February 2001. It is the moment when the universe suffers a crisis of conscience. Should it expand or make a great big bang? It decides to wind the clock back a decade to 1991, making everyone in the world endure ten years of deja-vu and a total loss of free will - not to mention the torture of reliving every nanosecond of one of the tawdiest and most hollow decades. With his trademark wicked wit, Vonnegut addresses memory, suicide, the Great Depression, the loss of American eloquence, and the obsolescent thrill of reading books.

Buy Timequake book by Kurt Vonnegut from Australia's Online Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780099267546
ISBN-10: 0099267543
Format: Paperback
(198mm x 129mm x 15mm)
Pages: 240
Imprint: Vintage
Publisher: Vintage Publishing
Publish Date: 6-Aug-1998
Country of Publication: United Kingdom

Other Editions...

Books By Author Kurt Vonnegut

Sun Moon Star by Kurt Vonnegut Sun Moon Star, Hardback (December 2016)

"Sun Moon Star is the story of the birth of Jesus--as told by Kurt Vonnegut. This children's book takes the newborn Jesus' perspective, offering beautiful and insightful descriptions of the world from someone newly born into it. In this book, we follow Jesus and meet the people most important to his life--presented in new and surprising ways"--

If This isn't Nice, What is? (Much) Expanded Second Edition by Kurt Vonnegut If This isn't Nice, What is? (Much) Expanded Second Edition, Hardback (June 2016)

Chiefly consists of selected graduation speeches given by Vonnegut at various educational institutions.

Novels and Stories 1963-1973 by Kurt Vonnegut Novels and Stories 1963-1973, Hardback (October 2014)

This first volume of a projected three-volume edition gathers four of Vonnegut's most acclaimed novels: "Cat's Cradle; God Bless You, Mr. Rosewater; Slaughterhouse-Five"; and "Breakfast of Champions." The volume is rounded out with three brilliant short stories and revealing autobiographical accounts of the bombing of Dresden.

» View all books by Kurt Vonnegut


US Kirkus Review » Vonnegut's first "novel" in seven years (and 14th overall) might by an extremely generous extension of the term be labeled an unassuming metafiction. Actually, it's unequal parts commonplace book, fragmentary autobiography, dystopian romance, and bemused meditation on our planet's presumable determination to destroy itself. The premise goes as follows: In the year 2001, "a sudden glitch in the space-time continuum, made everybody and everything do exactly what they'd been doing during the past decade . . . a second time": i.e., 2001 reverted to 1991, and "free will kicked in again" only after said decade had torturously re-run itself. One yearns to know what Thomas Berger might have made of this idea. Vonnegut, essentially, settles for employing it as an excuse to rummage through his own past and that of his alter-ego, the fictional science fiction writer Kilgore Trout. Accordingly, the novel about this "timequake" becomes a free-form farrago in which the author tenderly salutes and mourns his living and dead siblings, wives, and children; pays tribute to favorite books and writers; retells old jokes; reminisces about his experiences in WW II, and about his experiences also as a later respected public figure (visiting Nigeria after the Biafran War; giving a speech on the 50th anniversary of the bombing of Hiroshima); and woolgathers - often cloyingly - about the fate of "humanism" in an age dominated by technology. The book severely tests a reader's patience when it's padded with random bits of semi-relevant information and needless explanations (the plot of The Scarlet Letter; the full text of the 23rd Psalm). And yet, Vonnegut's fitful summaries of the life and writings of the Hunter Thompson-like Kilgore Trout are often very funny (the story "The Sisters B-36," set on "the matriarchal planet Booboo," really ought to have been written). So, as he himself might say, it goes. "We are here on earth to fart around" runs one of Vonnegut's more endearing pronouncements. Nobody does it better. (Kirkus Reviews)

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Timequake book by Kurt Vonnegut and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a member - it's free to sign up!)

Write a book review

Author Biography - Kurt Vonnegut

Kurt Vonnegut was born in Indianapolis in 1922 and studied biochemistry at Cornell University. During the Second World War he served in Europe and, as a prisoner of was in Germany, witnessed the destruction of Dresden by Allied bombers, an experience which inspired his classic novel Slaughterhouse-Five. He is the author of thirteen other novels, three collections of stories and five non-fiction books. Kurt Vonnegut died in 2007.

Boomerang Bucks close

For every $20 you spend on books, you will receive $1 in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars. You can use your Boomerang Bucks as a credit towards a future purchase from Boomerang Books. Note that you must be a Member (free to sign up) and that conditions do apply.

Recent books by Kurt Vonnegut close
Sun Moon Star by Kurt Vonnegut
If This isn't Nice, What is? (Much) Expanded Second Edition by Kurt Vonnegut
Fan Man by Kurt Vonnegut
Novels and Stories 1963-1973 by Kurt Vonnegut
Welcome to the Monkey House by Kurt Vonnegut
Kurt Vonnegut: Letters by Kurt Vonnegut
Kurt Vonnegut by Kurt Vonnegut
Fates Worse Than Death by Kurt Vonnegut
We are What We Pretend to be by Kurt Vonnegut
Sucker's Portfolio by Kurt Vonnegut
Happy Birthday Wanda June by Kurt Vonnegut
Man with the Golden Arm by Kurt Vonnegut
Kurt Vonnegut: The Last Interview by Kurt Vonnegut
While Mortals Sleep by Kurt Vonnegut
Cat's Cradle by Kurt Vonnegut
Like Shaking Hands with God by Kurt Vonnegut
God Bless You, Dr. Kevorkian by Kurt Vonnegut
Look at the Birdie by Kurt Vonnegut
Cat's Cradle by Kurt Vonnegut
Armageddon in Retrospect by Kurt Vonnegut
BoomerangBooks.com.au close