W. H. Auden: Selected Poems by W H Auden
Look inside with Google Book Preview
W. H. Auden: Selected Poems
By W H Auden

W. H. Auden: Selected Poems

By (author) See other recent books by W H Auden
Edited by Edward Mendelson See other recent books by Edward Mendelson
Format: Paperback

Normal Price: $30.45
Your Price: $27.40 AUD, inc. GST
Shipping: $7.95 per order
You Save: $3.04! (10% off normal price)
Plus...earn $1.37 in Boomerang Bucks
Availability: Available Available, ships in 8-11 days

W. H. Auden: Selected Poems by W H Auden

Book Description

The author has restored the early vision of some 30 of his greatest poems, generally considered to be superior to the later versions. Edited by Edward Medelson.

Buy W. H. Auden: Selected Poems book by W H Auden from Australia's Online Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780307278081
ISBN-10: 0307278085
Format: Paperback
(202mm x 135mm x 23mm)
Imprint: Vintage Books
Publisher: Random House USA Inc
Publish Date: 13-Feb-2007
Country of Publication: United States

Customers who bought this also bought...

Books By Author W H Auden

Intimate Journals by W H Auden Intimate Journals, Paperback / softback (June 2006)

Collection of the notorious poet's essays transcends the squalor of his financial ruin and the torture of physical decline to offer compelling thoughts on his world, society, and philosophy.

Collected Poems by W H Auden Collected Poems, Hardback

This collection presents all the poems that Auden wished to preserve, in the texts that received his final approval. It includes the full contents of his previous collected editions along with all the later volumes of his shorter poems.

» View all books by W H Auden


» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about W. H. Auden: Selected Poems book by W H Auden and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a member - it's free to sign up!)

Write a book review

Author Biography - W H Auden

W. H. Auden (1907-73) was born in York, England, and educated at Oxford. During the 1930s he was the leader of a left-wing literary group that included Christopher Isherwood and Stephen Spender. With Isherwood he wrote three verse plays. He lived in Germany during the early days of Nazism, and was a stretcher-bearer for the Republicans during the Spanish Civil War. Auden's first volume of poetry appeared in 1930. Later volumes include Spain (1937), New Year Letter (1941), For the Time Being, a Christmas Oratorio (1945), The Age of Anxiety (1947; Pulitzer Prize), Nones (1951), The Shield of Achilles (1955), Homage to Clio (1960), About the House (1965), Epistle of a Godson (1972), and Thank You, Fog (1974). His other works include the libretto, with his companion Chester Kallman, for Stravinsky's opera The Rake's Progress (1953); A Certain World: A Commonplace Book (1970); and The Dyer's Hand and Other Essays (1968). In 1939 Auden moved to the United States and became a citizen in 1946, and beginning that year taught at a number of American colleges and universities. From 1956 to 1961 he was professor of poetry at Oxford. Subsequently he lived in a number of countries, including Italy and Austria, and in 1971 he returned to England. He was awarded the National Medal for Literature in 1967.

Boomerang Bucks close

For every $20 you spend on books, you will receive $1 in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars. You can use your Boomerang Bucks as a credit towards a future purchase from Boomerang Books. Note that you must be a Member (free to sign up) and that conditions do apply.

Recent books by W H Auden close
Intimate Journals by W H Auden
Collected Poems by W H Auden
Markings by W H Auden
Recent books by Edward Mendelson close
W. H. Auden: Selected Poems by Edward Mendelson
Collected Poems by Edward Mendelson
Things That Matter by Edward Mendelson
BoomerangBooks.com.au close