Walking the Wrack Line by Barbara Hurd
Look inside with Google Book Preview
Walking the Wrack Line
By Barbara Hurd

Walking the Wrack Line

On Tidal Shifts and What Remains

By (author) See other recent books by Barbara Hurd
Format: Hardback

Normal Price: $49.77
Your Price: $44.79 AUD, inc. GST
Shipping: $7.95 per order
You Save: $4.98! (10% off normal price)
Plus...earn $2.24 in Boomerang Bucks
Availability: Available Available, ships in 8-11 days



Walking the Wrack Line by Barbara Hurd

Book Description

This book contains evocative nature writing in the tradition of Terry Tempest Williams and Gretel Ehrlich. Barbara Hurd continues to give nature writing a human dimension in this final volume of her trilogy that began with "Stirring the Mud" and "Entering the Stone". With prose both eloquent and wise, she examines what washes ashore, from the angel wing shells to broken oars. Even a merman appears in this brilliant collection that throws light on the mysterious and the overlooked.Writing from beaches as far-flung as Morocco, St. Croix, or Alaska, and as familiar as California and Cape Cod, she helps us see beauty in the gruesome feeding process of the moon snail. She holds up an encrusted, still-sealed message bottle to make tangible the emotional divide between mother and daughter. She considers a chunk of sea glass and the possibilities of transformation.The book began on a beach, Hurd says, "with the realization that a lot of what I care about survives in spite of - perhaps because of - having been broken or lost for a while in backward drift. Picking up egg cases, stones, shells, I kept turning them over - in my hands and in my mind." Each chapter starts with close attention to an object - a shell fragment of a pelican egg, or perhaps a jellyfish - but then widens into larger concerns: the persistence of habits, desire, disappointments, the lie of the perfectly preserved, the pleasures of aversions, transformations, and a phenomenon from physics known as the strange attractor.

Buy Walking the Wrack Line book by Barbara Hurd from Australia's Online Bookstore, Boomerang Books.


Book Details

ISBN: 9780820331027
ISBN-10: 0820331023
Format: Hardback
(210mm x 140mm x 16mm)
Pages: 160
Imprint: University of Georgia Press
Publisher: University of Georgia Press
Publish Date: 15-Jun-2008
Country of Publication: United States

Books By Author Barbara Hurd

Listening to the Savage by Barbara Hurd Listening to the Savage, Hardback (January 2016)

Barbara Hurd's Listening to the Savage weaves rich explorations of science, history, mythology, literature, and music. The listening of the book delineates and champions a kind of attentiveness to what is not easily heard and is written in language that is as precise as it is poetic, providing original ways of engagement in the natural world.

Entering the Stone by Barbara Hurd Entering the Stone, Paperback (June 2008)

Explores some caves on earth: from sacred caves in India to secret caves in Arizona. This book details the natural history and spiritual territory of these caves.

Stirring the Mud by Barbara Hurd Stirring the Mud, Paperback (June 2008)

Contains nine essays which explores the allure of bogs, swamps, and wetlands. Detailing the land of carnivorous plants, swamp gas, and bog men, this work establishes a separate ground for thoughts about mythology, literature, Eastern spirituality, and human longing.

» View all books by Barbara Hurd

Reviews

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Walking the Wrack Line book by Barbara Hurd and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a member - it's free to sign up!)

Write a book review


Author Biography - Barbara Hurd

Barbara Hurd is the author of "Stirring the Mud," "Entering the Stone," and a collection of poetry, "The Singer's Temple." Her work has appeared in "Best American Essays," "Yale Review," "Georgia Review," "Nimrod," "New Letters," and "Audubon." Hurd teaches creative writing at Frostburg State University, where she has held the Elkins Professorship, and at the Stonecoast MFA program at the University of Southern Maine.

Boomerang Bucks close

For every $20 you spend on books, you will receive $1 in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars. You can use your Boomerang Bucks as a credit towards a future purchase from Boomerang Books. Note that you must be a Member (free to sign up) and that conditions do apply.

Recent books by Barbara Hurd close
Listening to the Savage by Barbara Hurd
Entering the Stone by Barbara Hurd
Stirring the Mud by Barbara Hurd
»
BoomerangBooks.com.au close