Web of Fire by Steve Voake
Look inside with Google Book Preview
Web of Fire
By Steve Voake

The Web of Fire

By (author) See other recent books by Steve Voake
Format: Paperback

Normal Price: $14.80
Your Price: $13.32 AUD, inc. GST
Shipping: $7.95 per order
You Save: $1.48! (10% off normal price)
Plus...earn $0.67 in Boomerang Bucks
Availability: Available Available, ships in 10-12 days



Web of Fire by Steve Voake

Book Description

Skipper and Sam are back, four years after they vanquished Odoursin and saved humankind from his terrifying plans. But the Aurobon they return to is vastly different from the one they left. Vahlzi has been destroyed and all that remains of Firebrand's forces are scattered groups of resistance fighters. For after his defeat, Odoursin went underground, waiting until the time was right to unleash his new army and annihilate Vahlzi for good. Filled with grief and rage, Skipper and Sam are determined to help their surviving friends fight Odoursin and build a squadron of the fiercest insects ever seen. But their mission becomes heart-stoppingly urgent when they discover that Odoursin is once again plotting to destroy humankind - this time by using the President of the United States...

Buy Web of Fire book by Steve Voake from Australia's Online Bookstore, Boomerang Books.


Book Details

ISBN: 9780571223497
ISBN-10: 0571223494
Format: Paperback
(197mm x 126mm x 23mm)
Pages: 336
Imprint: Faber & Faber
Publisher: Faber & Faber
Publish Date: 4-Jan-2007
Country of Publication: United Kingdom

Other Editions...


Books By Author Steve Voake

Maxwell Mutt and the Downtown Dogs by Steve Voake Maxwell Mutt and the Downtown Dogs, Paperback (August 2016)

A new series of funny, warm-hearted animal adventures for fans of Dick King-Smith, Awesome Animals and Disney classics like Lady and the Tramp; illustrated by Jim Field.

Insect Detective by Steve Voake Insect Detective, Paperback (August 2015)

An exquisite glimpse into the strange and wonderful world of insects.

Hooey Higgins and the Christmas Crash by Steve Voake Hooey Higgins and the Christmas Crash, Paperback (October 2014)

Like sheep? Like nurses? Like to meet A SHEEP-BOY-NURSE? Sledge on down to Shrimpton-on-Sea and you might be in luck!

» View all books by Steve Voake

Reviews

US Kirkus Review » Sam and Skipper are back in this sequel to The Dreamwalker's Child (2006). They've been gone from Aurobon for several years, and in their absence, the evil Vermian Ruler Odoursin has marched his evil storm troopers across the plains, capturing Vahlzi, capital city of the resistance. Relying on advanced technology, he hopes to take over not only Aurobon, but the parallel world of earth, wiping out the human race in the process. Ruthless forces clash with those who stand for right over might. Scientists grapple with whether they should invent new weapons, just because they can. And Sam and Skipper race to save the day while wondering where they've been between wars - and where they will find themselves when this one is over. This outing does not match the first in richness or imagination, relying on a swift pace and some snappy dialogue to move the reader along. Still, it's nice to revisit the original characters, even if they do not seem to have developed any new dimension. One can only hope that if a third installment is in the works, it will return with the richness of detail that made the first so interesting. (Science fiction. 12-15) (Kirkus Reviews)


» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Web of Fire book by Steve Voake and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a member - it's free to sign up!)

Write a book review


Author Biography - Steve Voake

Steve Voake is the author of The Dreamwalker's Child and its sequel, The Web of Fire. After many happy years as headmaster of a primary school in Somerset, he finally hung up his mortar board to write full time. He is married with two children.

Boomerang Bucks close

For every $20 you spend on books, you will receive $1 in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars. You can use your Boomerang Bucks as a credit towards a future purchase from Boomerang Books. Note that you must be a Member (free to sign up) and that conditions do apply.

Recent books by Steve Voake close
Maxwell Mutt and the Downtown Dogs by Steve Voake
Insect Detective by Steve Voake
Hooey Higgins and the Christmas Crash by Steve Voake
Daisy Dawson at the Beach by Steve Voake
Daisy Dawson and the Secret Pond by Steve Voake
Daisy Dawson on the Farm by Steve Voake
Daisy Dawson and the Big Freeze by Steve Voake
Daisy Dawson Is on Her Way! by Steve Voake
Hooey Higgins and the Storm by Steve Voake
Hooey Higgins and the Awards of Awesomeness by Steve Voake
Daisy Dawson on the Farm by Steve Voake
Hooey Higgins and the Big Day Out by Steve Voake
Daisy Dawson on the Farm by Steve Voake
Hooey Higgins and the Shark by Steve Voake
Daisy Dawson at the Beach by Steve Voake
Daisy Dawson on the Farm by Steve Voake
Dark Woods by Steve Voake
Daisy Dawson at the Beach by Steve Voake
Insect Detective by Steve Voake
Daisy Dawson at the Seaside by Steve Voake
»
BoomerangBooks.com.au close