Where a Nickel Costs a Dime by Willie Perdomo
Look inside with Google Book Preview
Where a Nickel Costs a Dime
By Willie Perdomo

Where a Nickel Costs a Dime

Poems

By (author) See other recent books by Willie Perdomo
Format: Paperback

Normal Price: $29.82
Your Price: $26.84 AUD, inc. GST
Shipping: $7.95 per order
You Save: $2.98! (10% off normal price)
Plus...earn $1.34 in Boomerang Bucks
Availability: Available Available, ships in 8-11 days



Where a Nickel Costs a Dime by Willie Perdomo

Book Description

Where a Nickel Costs a Dime captures the hip-hop rhythms and in-your-face intensity of the Nuyorican Poets Cafe, a downtown Manhattan club where the hottest young poets are finding their fame. Willie Perdomo's poems, in the tradition of Amiri Baraka, Langston Hughes, and Ntozake Shange, meet at the intersection of the street and the academy. The world in these piercing and heartbreaking poems is Spanish Harlem, "where night turns to day without sleep," where "Puerto Rico stays on our minds when the fresh breeze of cafe con leche y pan con mantequilla comes through half-opened windows and under our doors," where "babies fall asleep to the bark of a German shepherd," where "Independence Day is celebrated everyday," where "the police come into your house without knocking. They throw us off rooftops and say we slipped. They shoot my father and say he was crazy. They put a bullet in my head and say they found me that way." Blending images of street life, drugs, and AIDS against hope and determination, Willie Perdomo is a cutting-edge bard who speaks to the soul of his generation.

Buy Where a Nickel Costs a Dime book by Willie Perdomo from Australia's Online Bookstore, Boomerang Books.


Book Details

ISBN: 9780393313833
ISBN-10: 0393313832
Format: Paperback
(211mm x 152mm x 7mm)
Pages: 80
Imprint: WW Norton & Co
Publisher: WW Norton & Co
Publish Date: 19-Aug-1996
Country of Publication: United States

Other Editions...


Books By Author Willie Perdomo

Clemente! by Willie Perdomo Clemente!, Paperback / softback (January 2016)

The award-winning team of Perdomo and Collier ("Visiting Langston") joins forces once again for this tribute to baseball's beloved Roberto Clemente. Full color.

Visiting Langston by Willie Perdomo Visiting Langston, Hardback (September 2005)

It's a special day when a little girl and her father go to visit the house where the great poet Langston Hughes lived--especially when the little girl is a poet herself. Full color.

» View all books by Willie Perdomo

Reviews

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Where a Nickel Costs a Dime book by Willie Perdomo and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a member - it's free to sign up!)

Write a book review


Author Biography - Willie Perdomo

Willie Perdomo is the author of The Essential Hits of Shorty Bon Bon, Where a Nickel Costs a Dime, a finalist for the Poetry Society of America Norma Farber First Book Award and Smoking Lovely, winner of the PEN Beyond Margins Award. His poems have appeared in The New York Times Magazine, BOMB, Mandorla, and African Voices. He is a Pushcart Prize nominee, a former recipient of the Woolrich Fellowship in Creative Writing at Columbia University, and two-time New York Foundation for the Arts Poetry Fellow. He is a member of the VONA/Voices faculty and is currently an English Instructor at Phillips Exeter Academy. Visit his website at www.willieperdomo.com

Boomerang Bucks close

For every $20 you spend on books, you will receive $1 in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars. You can use your Boomerang Bucks as a credit towards a future purchase from Boomerang Books. Note that you must be a Member (free to sign up) and that conditions do apply.

Recent books by Willie Perdomo close
Clemente! by Willie Perdomo
Essential Hits of Shorty Bon Bon by Willie Perdomo
Clemente! by Willie Perdomo
Visiting Langston by Willie Perdomo
»
BoomerangBooks.com.au close