Why Has Japan 'Succeeded'? by Michio Morishima
Look inside with Google Book Preview
Why Has Japan 'Succeeded'?
By Michio Morishima

Why Has Japan 'Succeeded'?

Western Technology and the Japanese Ethos

By (author) See other recent books by Michio Morishima
Format: Paperback

Normal Price: $72.95
Your Price: $65.66 AUD, inc. GST
Shipping: $7.95 per order
You Save: $7.30! (10% off normal price)
Plus...earn $3.28 in Boomerang Bucks
Availability: Available Available to Backorder, No Due Date for Supply



Why Has Japan 'Succeeded'? by Michio Morishima

Book Description

This book, by a distinguished Japanese economist now resident in the West, offers a new interpretation of the current success of the Japanese economy. By placing the rise of Japan in the context of its historical development, Michio Morishima shows how a strongly-held national ethos has interacted with religious, social and technological ideas imported from elsewhere to produce highly distinctive cultural traits. While Professor Morishima traces the roots of modern Japan back as far as the introduction of Confucianism, Taoism and Buddhism from China in the sixth century, he concentrates his observations on the last 120 years during which Japan has had extensive contacts with the West. He describes the swift rise of Japan to the status of a first-rate power following the Meiji Revolution after 1867, in which Japan broke with a long history of isolationism, and which paved the way for the adoption of Western technology and the creation of a modern Western-style nation state; and a similarly meteoric rise from the devastation of the Second World War to Japan's present position. A range of factors in Japan's economic success are analysed: her characteristic dualistic social structure - corresponding to the divide between large and medium/small enterprises - the relations of government and big business, the poor reception of liberalism and individualism, and the strength of the Japanese nationalism. Throughout, Professor Morishima emphasises the importance of the role played in the creation of Japanese capitalism by ethical doctrines as transformed under Japanese conditions, especially the Japanese Confucian tradition of complete loyalty to the firm and to the state. This account, which makes clear the extent to which the economic rise of Japan is due to factors unique to its historical traditions, will be of interest to a wide general readership as well as to students of Japan and its history.

Buy Why Has Japan 'Succeeded'? book by Michio Morishima from Australia's Online Bookstore, Boomerang Books.


Book Details

ISBN: 9780521269032
ISBN-10: 0521269032
Format: Paperback
(228mm x 152mm x 13mm)
Pages: 224
Imprint: Cambridge University Press
Publisher: Cambridge University Press
Publish Date: 21-Jun-1984
Country of Publication: United Kingdom

Other Editions...


Books By Author Michio Morishima

Working of Econometric Models by Michio Morishima Working of Econometric Models, Paperback (January 2010)

Examines the results of five empirical studies dealing with applications of the general equilibrium models.

Dynamic Economic Theory by Michio Morishima Dynamic Economic Theory, Paperback (September 2009)

This book devolops multi-sector general equilibrium theory in the tradition of Hicks's Value and Capital.

Collaborative Development in Northeast Asia by Michio Morishima Collaborative Development in Northeast Asia, Hardback (October 2000)

This work is concerned with an imaginary world as Joseph A. Schumpter was in "Capitalism, Socialism and Democracy". It explicitly assumes that both "politicians" and "entrepreneurs" are active in making innovations in the political and business worlds respectively.

Japan at Deadlock by Michio Morishima Japan at Deadlock, Hardback (August 2000)

Since the beginning of the 1990s, Japan's economy has been in decline. This change is investigated through a variety of standpoints, using an in-depth knowledge of the Japanese ethos, national history, educational background, as well as the sociology of the Japanese economy and business world.

» View all books by Michio Morishima

Reviews

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Why Has Japan 'Succeeded'? book by Michio Morishima and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a member - it's free to sign up!)

Write a book review


Boomerang Bucks close

For every $20 you spend on books, you will receive $1 in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars. You can use your Boomerang Bucks as a credit towards a future purchase from Boomerang Books. Note that you must be a Member (free to sign up) and that conditions do apply.

Recent books by Michio Morishima close
Working of Econometric Models by Michio Morishima
Dynamic Economic Theory by Michio Morishima
Collaborative Development in Northeast Asia by Michio Morishima
Japan at Deadlock by Michio Morishima
Dynamic Economic Theory by Michio Morishima
Power Theory of Economics by Michio Morishima
Capital and Credit by Michio Morishima
Capital and Credit by Michio Morishima
Ricardo's Economics by Michio Morishima
Economics of Industrial Society by Michio Morishima
Walras' Economics by Michio Morishima
Marxs Economics by Michio Morishima
Economic Theory of Modern Society by Michio Morishima
Working of Econometric Models by Michio Morishima
Theory of Economic Growth by Michio Morishima
Equilibrium, Stability and Growth by Michio Morishima
»
BoomerangBooks.com.au close