Without Warning by John Birmingham
Look inside with Google Book Preview
Without Warning
By John Birmingham

Without Warning

By (author) See other recent books by John Birmingham
Format: Paperback

Checking availability...

Without Warning by John Birmingham

Book Description

2003: In Paris, an assassin wakes from a coma. In Kuwait, American forces are assembled for their invasion of Iraq. In the pristine forest of the Cascades, a lone hiker watches a plane fly into the side of a mountain. And just north of the Equator, a modern-day pirate, a rogue Tasmanian, is witness to the unspeakable. A wave of inexplicable energy has slammed into America. And destroyed it. In one instant, all around the world, from Cairo to Canberra, things will never be the same. For the jihadists, Allah has performed a miracle. For Saddam, it is a chance for revenge. Iran declares war, but on an America that doesn't exist, except in the hearts and souls of the men and women who want it to. For US allies, Armageddon has arrived. Israel acts. Australasia, far from the noxious waste darkening Europe's skies, beckons as a possible oasis. Without Warning tells a fast, furious story of survival, violence, and a new, soul-shattering reality. Here is a world without its sheriff, its Great Satan, or its saviour...

Buy Without Warning book by John Birmingham from Australia's Online Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9781405038126
ISBN-10: 1405038128
Format: Paperback
(233mm x 154mm x 42mm)
Imprint: Macmillan Australia
Publisher: Pan Macmillan Australia
Publish Date: 1-Oct-2008
Country of Publication: Australia

Other Editions...

Books By Author John Birmingham

Girl in Time by John Birmingham Girl in Time, Paperback / softback (December 2016)

On the eve of a huge, breakout success, a poor but brilliant young game developer is pulled out of her world, and time itself, by a cowboy desperately searching for the daughter he lost two hundred years ago.

How to be a Writer by John Birmingham How to be a Writer, Paperback (June 2016)

This gonzo guide isn't for the faint-hearted. In high-octane style, best-selling author John Birmingham provides tried-and-tested tips for writing well - and getting paid. Topics covered include "how to slay writer's block", "what the hell is workflow", "how to write 10,000 words in a day" and "the best apps for writers".

Ascendance: Dave vs. the Monsters by John Birmingham Ascendance: Dave vs. the Monsters, Paperback / softback (June 2015)

"A Del Rey mass market original"--Title page verso.

» View all books by John Birmingham


US Kirkus Review » Birmingham (Final Impact, 2007, etc.) begins a new apocalyptic science-fiction trilogy.In 2003, as U.S. forces gather to invade Iraq, a teardrop-shaped field engulfs most of the continental United States, Canada, Mexico and Cuba. Inside the field, animals and people are reduced to puddles of goo. After this desperately hard-to-swallow event, the author follows the adventures of a select group of individuals. In Seattle, the only U.S. metropolis outside the zone of death, city engineer James Kipper struggles to maintain order and essential services against terrified rioters and a threatened army coup. In Hawaii, Admiral James Ritchie marshals the largest surviving concentration of American naval power against - what? In Guantanamo, General Tusk Musso finds himself cooperating with what's left of Cuba's army. At Coalition headquarters in Qatar, army journalist Bret Melton struggles to understand what's happened and fears what might come. In Paris, secret agent and assassin Caitlin Monroe wakes, bewildered, in a hospital, to find that her jihadi-terrorist target has vanished and she has developed a brain tumor. In the Pacific, Pete Holder's cheerful band of smugglers board the vast, opulent, now-deserted yacht of Aussie golf legend Greg Norman and wonder how to keep what they've grabbed while surviving attacks by pirates and renegade Peruvians. The situation deteriorates rapidly: Israel unleashes its nukes; France succumbs to a fifth-column - inspired civil war; Britain barricades itself; and what's left of America considers how to choose a new chief executive and survive with dignity - but above all, survive. The implicit assumption is that humanity's worst instincts will surface.Narrated with crisp, fluid expertise, Birmingham's ultrabloody and violent yarn exerts a dreadful, morbid fascination. Three volumes of this should satisfy the most avid cravings. (Kirkus Reviews)

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Without Warning book by John Birmingham and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a member - it's free to sign up!)

Write a book review

Author Biography - John Birmingham

John Birmingham John Birmingham is the author of the cult classic He Died With a Falafel in His Hand; the award-winning history Leviathan; the Axis of Time trilogy; the Disappearance Trilogy; and the Dave Hooper series. Between writing books he contributes to a wide range of newspapers and magazines on topics as diverse as the future of media and national security. He began his working life as a research officer with the Defence Department's Office of Special Clearances and Records.

Boomerang Bucks close

For every $20 you spend on books, you will receive $1 in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars. You can use your Boomerang Bucks as a credit towards a future purchase from Boomerang Books. Note that you must be a Member (free to sign up) and that conditions do apply.

Recent books by John Birmingham close
Girl in Time by John Birmingham
How to be a Writer by John Birmingham
Brave Ones by John Birmingham
Ascendance: Dave vs. the Monsters by John Birmingham
Dave vs. the Monsters: Ascendance (David Hooper) by John Birmingham
Resistance: Dave vs. the Monsters by John Birmingham
Dave vs. the Monsters by John Birmingham
Ascendance by John Birmingham
Emergence: Dave vs. the Monsters by John Birmingham
Dave vs. The Monsters by John Birmingham
Resistance by John Birmingham
Emergence by John Birmingham
Angels of Vengeance by John Birmingham
Without Warning: Angels of Vengeance by John Birmingham
Without Warning: After America by John Birmingham
Without Warning by John Birmingham
Angels of Vengeance by John Birmingham
After America by John Birmingham
Final Impact by John Birmingham
Designated Targets by John Birmingham
BoomerangBooks.com.au close