Infernal Desire Machines of Doctor Hoffman by Angela Carter
Look inside with Google Book Preview
Infernal Desire Machines of Doctor Hoffman
By Angela Carter

The Infernal Desire Machines of Doctor Hoffman

By (author) See other recent books by Angela Carter
Format: Paperback

Checking availability...




Infernal Desire Machines of Doctor Hoffman by Angela Carter

Book Description

Desiderio, an employee of the city under a bizarre reality attack from Doctor Hoffman's mysterious machines, has fallen in love with Albertina, the Doctor's daughter. But Albertina, a beautiful woman made of glass, seems only to appear to him in his dreams. Meeting on his adventures a host of cannibals, centaurs and acrobats, Desiderio must battle against unreality and the warping of time and space to be with her, as the Doctor reduces Desiderio's city to a chaotic state of emergency - one ridden with madness, crime and sexual excess. A satirical tale of magic and sex, "The Infernal Desire Machines of Doctor Hoffman" is a dazzling quest for truth, love and identity.

Buy Infernal Desire Machines of Doctor Hoffman book by Angela Carter from Australia's Online Bookstore, Boomerang Books.


Book Details

ISBN: 9780141192390
ISBN-10: 0141192399
Classification: Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)
Format: Paperback (198mm x 129mm x 17mm)
Pages: 288
Imprint: Penguin Classics
Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd
Publish Date: 3-Feb-2011
Country of Publication: United Kingdom

Other Editions...


You might also like...

House We Grew Up In by Lisa Jewell House We Grew Up In by Lisa Jewell

Presents a picture-book cottage in a country village, a warm, cosy kitchen filled with love and laughter, sun-drenched afternoons in a rambling garden. But one Easter weekend a tragedy strikes the Bird family that is so devastating that, almost imperceptibly, it begins to tear them apart.

Company You Keep by Neil Gordon Company You Keep by Neil Gordon

A smart, action-packed political thriller from the author of The Company You Keep and You're A Big Girl Now, perfect for fans of John Le Carre.

Local Souls by Allan Gurganus Local Souls by Allan Gurganus

This book underscores what we have long known Gurganus stands among the best writers of our time. Ann Patchett"

Liberty by Jakob Ejersbo Liberty by Jakob Ejersbo

Two young men from very different backgrounds: Christian is son to Danish ex-pats; Marcus works as a servant for European families, hoping that one will eventually take him back with them. Their friendship defines a divided continent.

» View more books like these...

Books By Author Angela Carter

Shaking a Leg by Angela Carter Shaking a Leg, Paperback (November 2013)

A title that is written by an author whose breadth of interest ranges from food to feminism to science fiction, and everything in between.

Bloody Chamber by Angela Carter Bloody Chamber, Paperback (September 2008)

Bryony Lavery's new stage adaptation of Angela Carter's The Bloody Chamber.

Wise Children by Angela Carter Wise Children, Paperback / softback (December 2007)

"Originally published in 1991 by Chatto & Windus, Great Britain"-- T.p. verso.

» View all books by Angela Carter

Reviews

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Infernal Desire Machines of Doctor Hoffman book by Angela Carter and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a member - it's free to sign up!)

Write a book review


Author Biography - Angela Carter

Angela Carter was born in 1940 of a Scottish father and Yorkshire mother. She read English at Bristol University, and after escaping an early marriage went to live in Japan for a number of years. She wrote nine novels, which blend fantasy, science fiction and gothic, and is often referred to as a writer of magic realism. She died in 1992. Ali Smith was born in Inverness in 1962 and lives in Cambridge. She is the author of Free Love, Like, Hotel World, Other Stories and Other Stories, The Whole Story and Other Stories, The Accidental, Girl Meets Boy and The First Person and Other Stories.

Boomerang Bucks close

For every $20 you spend on books, you will receive $1 in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars. You can use your Boomerang Bucks as a credit towards a future purchase from Boomerang Books. Note that you must be a Member (free to sign up) and that conditions do apply.

Recent books by Angela Carter close
Shaking a Leg by Angela Carter
Bloody Chamber by Angela Carter
Little Red Riding Hood, Cinderella, and Other Classic Fairy Tales of Charles Perrault by Angela Carter
Wise Children by Angela Carter
Passion of New Eve by Angela Carter
»
BoomerangBooks.com.au close