Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Description - Emergence by John Birmingham

The first book in an edge-of-your-seat trilogy PRAISE FOR JOHN BIRMINGHAM "mesmeric readability" Weekend Australian "[Birmingham displays] an exuberance and virtuosity that is positively Clancyesque" Time 'Monsters,' said Vince Martinelli. 'There are monsters on the rig, Dave.' Dave Hooper has the hangover from hell, a demonic ex-wife and the claws of the tax office sinking into him. So the last thing he needs is an explosion at the off-shore oil rig where he works. But this is no ordinary industrial accident, and despite the news reports, Dave knows that terrorists aren't to blame for the disaster. He knows because he has killed one of the things responsible. When he wakes up in a hospital bed guarded by Navy SEALs, he realises he hasn't been on a bad acid trip. It all really happened. Yet his shock is cut short by a startling self-discovery; his contact with the creature has transformed the overweight, balding safety manager into something else entirely. A goddamned superhero. Then he learns the attack on the rig is only the first. THE DAVE HOOPER TRILOGY Book One: Emergence Book Two: Resistance Book Three: Ascendance

Buy Emergence by John Birmingham from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9781742614045
ISBN-10: 1742614043
Format: Paperback / softback
(233mm x 155mm x 25mm)
Pages: 336
Imprint: Macmillan Australia
Publisher: Pan Macmillan Australia
Publish Date: 1-Jan-2015
Country of Publication: Australia

Other Editions - Emergence by John Birmingham

Book Reviews - Emergence by John Birmingham

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Emergence book by John Birmingham and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Author Biography - John Birmingham

John Birmingham is the author of the cult classic He Died With a Falafel in His Hand; the award-winning history Leviathan; the Axis of Time series: Weapons of Choice, Designated Targets and Final Impact, and the Stalin's Hammer ebook; and the Disappearance trilogy: Without Warning, After America and Angels of Vengeance. Between writing books he contributes to a wide range of newspapers and magazines on topics as diverse as the future of media and national security. Before becoming a writer he began his working life as a research officer with the Defence Department's Office of Special Clearances and Records. John Birmingham refuses to build a website, but you can find him online at his blog, http://cheeseburgergothic.com and on Twitter @johnbirmingham.

A Preview for this title is currently not available.