We are open! For operations and delivery updates due to COVID-19. (click here)
0

Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Description - A Sceptic's Search for Meaning by Mike Willesee

'Willesee has always been a news-hound in pursuit of a story.' Sydney Morning Herald

Perfect for fans of Proof of Heaven, this part memoir, part investigation is a spellbinding spiritual quest around the world and deep into the heart of life's ultimate riddle.

Is there life after death?
Does God exist?
How do you explain miracles?

In a career spanning fifty years and thousands of stories, legendary Australian journalist Mike Willesee dared to pose the big questions as part of his ongoing quest for meaning.

Born into the Catholic faith, with early ambitions to be a priest, he tried to escape his spiritual destiny by pursuing a path as an investigative journalist. But fate kept catching up, as A Sceptic's Search for Meaning reveals.

He had a premonition his plane was going to crash, moments before it did.

He found himself the neighbour of one of Australia's most passionate investigators of mystical phenomena, who convinced Mike to join him on his quest.

Among many such adventures, Mike flew to Bolivia to interview Katya Rivas, dubbed 'God's secretary'. He watched as the barely literate woman who claimed never to have read the Bible wrote page after page of perfect theology in multiple languages. He also sat by her bed as blood started to ooze from her brow, her hands and her feet - the telltale signs of stigmata.

Written in his final year as Mike fought a losing battle with cancer, A Sceptic's Search for Meaning is a moving and intriguing tale of one man's attempt to make sense of the profound mysteries of faith.

PRAISE FOR MEMOIRS

'A cracking tale of good fortune, ambition, risk-taking, self-belief and driving curiosity.' Daily Telegraph

Buy A Sceptic's Search for Meaning by Mike Willesee from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9781760556754
Format: Paperback / softback
(232mm x 155mm x 29mm)
Pages: 288
Imprint: Macmillan Australia
Publisher: Pan Macmillan Australia
Publish Date: 29-Oct-2019
Country of Publication: Australia

Other Editions - A Sceptic's Search for Meaning by Mike Willesee

Book Reviews - A Sceptic's Search for Meaning by Mike Willesee

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about A Sceptic's Search for Meaning book by Mike Willesee and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)


A Preview for this title is currently not available.