0

Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

We are open! For operations and delivery updates due to COVID-19. (click here)

Description - A Sister's Struggle by Mary Gibson

A young girl struggles to keep body and soul together in 1930s London, while her proud but spendthrift widowed father refuses to accept charity.

The heartfelt new saga from Mary Gibson, bestselling author of Custard Tarts and Broken Hearts . London, 1935. Ruby is always hungry, but she will go without if it means her young brothers can eat. 1930s Bermondsey might be called the larder of London, with its pie, pickle and jam factories, but for the poor working classes, starvation is a heartbeat away. When Ruby's neighbour suggests she go to the Methodist Mission for free food, Ruby knows her father will be furious, but that she has no other option. It is a decision that will change the course of her life forever and lead her to face a terrible choice between duty and a great love. Praise for A SISTER'S STRUGGLE : ' Affecting, poignant and intensely emotional ... A stirring and captivating read guaranteed to tug at your heartstrings that is absolutely perfect for fans of Call the Midwife ' Julie, Bookish Jottings . ' Beautifully written book. I feel so honoured to have witnessed this raw and heartfelt story and I am hoping this review will give the book the justice it deserves ... An emotional and heartfelt journey [...] told with pure honesty and heart ' Stacey is Reading . 'A brilliant saga filled with intrigue and questions ... Full of friendship, family and choices , it's a book I can highly recommend to all saga fans. But do remember to set aside a day to read, because once you start, you won't want to put the book down ' Lauren, Mixing Reality with Fiction . ' Brilliant depiction of London and life during trying times . I immediately wanted Ruby and her family to be OK and was rooting for them' Katherine's Book Universe . ' Perfect reading on a cold winter's night ... Set around the same time as the popular Call the Midwife , so if you are a fan of that you are sure to like this book. I thoroughly enjoyed it, so much that it's one I will read again' Rachel Bustin. 'A truly beautiful book ... It gives you a glimpse into real London in the 1930s ... An eye-opening book, and if you love Call the Midwife , you will LOVE this book ' Cara's Book Boudoir .

Buy A Sister's Struggle by Mary Gibson from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9781788542616
Format: Hardback
(228mm x 145mm x mm)
Pages: 448
Imprint: Head of Zeus
Publisher: Head of Zeus
Publish Date: 7-Feb-2019
Country of Publication: United Kingdom

Other Editions - A Sister's Struggle by Mary Gibson

Book Reviews - A Sister's Struggle by Mary Gibson

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about A Sister's Struggle book by Mary Gibson and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)


A Preview for this title is currently not available.

Books By Mary Gibson

A Sister's Struggle by Mary Gibson
Paperback / softback, May 2019
$16.99 $19.99
Bourbon Creams and Tattered Dreams by Mary Gibson
Paperback / softback, May 2017
$16.99 $19.99
Gunner Girls And Fighter Boys by Mary Gibson
Hardback, January 2016
$59.40 $66.00
The Bermondsey Bookshop by Mary Gibson
Hardback, February 2020
$38.69 $42.99