0

Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Description - A Week to Remember by Esther Campion

A converted stone farmhouse on the Irish coast is about to receive its first guests in this warmly captivating story for fans of Maeve Binchy and Monica McInerney

With its brightly painted front door, white-sash windows and garden path sweeping down toward the sea, Lizzie O's guesthouse promises a welcome escape from the world. Aisling and Mick Fitzgerald are travelling all the way from Tasmania to celebrate their wedding anniversary, but Aisling is burdened with a secret that could ruin their marriage. Declan Byrne, exhausted from an unhealthy routine of long hours, takeaway and too much red wine, has spontaneously taken the week off to visit the village of his childhood summers. Katie Daly returns to West Cork after an absence of 35 years to care for her ageing mother only to find she must confront her painful past. Finally, Mia Montgomery is taking this holiday without telling her husband.

Each of this group of strangers is at a crossroads. And one week in the middle of winter may change all of their lives.

'A profoundly moving read... a skilled storyteller possessed of a supreme ability for building characters about whom we care and whose words are a balm. I look forward to reading more of Esther Campion' Living Arts Canberra

'Warm, wise and full of humour... a wonderful new voice in Australian fiction' CATHY KELLY

'Joins the captivating Maeve Binchy in the pantheon of popular Irish novelists' Irish Scene

Buy A Week to Remember by Esther Campion from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780733645518
Format: Paperback / softback
(223mm x 151mm x 25mm)
Pages: 336
Imprint: Hachette Australia
Publisher: Hachette Australia
Publish Date: 23-Feb-2021
Country of Publication: Australia

Other Editions - A Week to Remember by Esther Campion

Book Reviews - A Week to Remember by Esther Campion

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about A Week to Remember book by Esther Campion and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Book Review: A Week to Remember by Esther Campion - Reviewed by (28 Jan 2021)

4.5?s A Week To Remember is the third novel by Irish-born Australian author, Esther Campion. The opening week of Lizzie O’s Guesthouse in Crookhaven on the Irish coast attracts a diverse group of guests. Ellen O’Shea, together with her brother and her partner, Gerry, has renovated and converted her grandmother’s farmhouse: beautiful accommodation, wonderful food and, and a range of winter activities are all designed to entice.

Cork dentist, Declan Byrne hears about it via the interior design business sharing his building, which had a hand in the conversion. Recently split from his wife, Declan’s life consists of work, his Lexus, his luxury apartment, Uber Eats, a lot of red wine and Netflix. He knows he needs to get fitter, and is coming to accept his attitude (to women and generally) may need adjusting.

Katie Daly is in Ireland only on an estranged-mother-minding mission and has no intention of socialising with guests or locals: she will do her duty and return to Brooklyn. Her father threw her out at seventeen, and she’s never been back. And any encounters with Conor Fox, her grad ball date from thirty-five years ago, is to be assiduously avoided.

For Irish-born Aisling Fitzgerald and her husband Mick, the week at Crookhaven is a gift from her mother-in-law, bookended by the obligatory family visits. Aisling would have preferred Bali over West Cork for their fifteenth wedding anniversary and Mick’s fortieth. The worst of it is that the awful guilt she’s been carrying for weeks stops her from sharing Mick’s delight.

Lilian Fitzgerald has travelled to the north of Tasmania, to her son’s home to look after his children while he and Aisling are on their Irish trip. She’s delighted to reconnect with her grandchildren, and with their close friend and neighbour, Heather Watson and her family, although Heather’s father Doug is hard work: he may be a widower, but does he have to be such a grump?

Mia Montgomery has trailed after her husband on his research trips around various European sites for eight years. Harry’s only interest is fish diseases, and for Mia, the excitement that initially eclipsed the poor accommodation and lack of social interaction has worn thin: Mia is bored and lonely. A week on the Irish coast will be her selfish indulgence.

In amongst the beach rambles, the baking lessons, the spa pampering sessions, the coastal foraging tour, the pub poetry slam night, the hiking, the seaweed vodka tasting, the incidental interactions with other guests and with the locals, there are accusations and epiphanies, shocks and surprises, confessions and confrontations, revelations, realisations and reconciliations. Not everyone emerges totally unscathed, but the ending is a feel-good one. A very enjoyable read. This unbiased review is from an uncorrected proof copy provided by NetGalley and Hachette Australia.


A Preview for this title is currently not available.