Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

We are open! For operations and delivery updates due to COVID-19. (click here)

Description - Across the Nightingale Floor: Book 1 Tales of the Otori by Lian Hearn

The mythical world of the Otori is unforgettable.

Now the Trilogy is available in six exquisite little books, two volumes for each title. Carry them anywhere, read them on the train, collect all six, and when you ve read them, you can gaze at the beautiful boxed set.

In the style of the small, palm-size Japanese books, they will lure new readers into the world of the Otori.

In this episode:

Since his rescue by Lord Otori Shigeru, Takeo has learned that his father, whom he had never met, was part of the Tribe. With Kenji, with whom Takeo is working to hone his special skills, the three journey to the stronghold of the power-hungry Lord Iida, where they meet Kaede, a 15-year-old girl chosen as the future Lady Otori. Throughout the journey Takeo is pulled between his allegiances to the Otori and to the Tribe. And when Takeo and Kaede first see one another, they are drawn together, and without a word, fall in love. But events are doomed to pull them apart .

What the critics said:

Lian s writing sweeps you along and leaves you tingling

in anticipation of the final instalment in this epic tale

Buy Across the Nightingale Floor: Book 1 Tales of the Otori by Lian Hearn from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780733620560
ISBN-10: 0733620566
Format: Paperback / softback
(152mm x 112mm x 12mm)
Pages: 260
Imprint: Hachette Australia
Publisher: Hachette Australia
Publish Date: 1-Aug-2006
Country of Publication: Australia

Other Editions - Across the Nightingale Floor: Book 1 Tales of the Otori by Lian Hearn

Book Reviews - Across the Nightingale Floor: Book 1 Tales of the Otori by Lian Hearn

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Across the Nightingale Floor: Book 1 Tales of the Otori book by Lian Hearn and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Author Biography - Lian Hearn

Lian Hearn's beloved Tales of the Otori series, set in an imagined feudal Japan, has sold more than four million copies worldwide and has been translated into nearly forty languages. It is comprised of five volumes: ACROSS THE NIGHTINGALE FLOOR, GRASS FOR HIS PILLOW, BRILLIANCE OF THE MOON, THE HARSH CRY OF THE HERON and HEAVEN'S NET IS WIDE. The series was followed by two standalone novels, BLOSSOMS AND SHADOWS and THE STORYTELLER AND HIS THREE DAUGHTERS, also set in Japan. EMPEROR OF THE EIGHT ISLANDS is Books 1 and 2 in The Tale of Shikanoko and is followed by LORD OF THE DARKWOOD (Books 3 and 4). Lian has made many trips to Japan and has studied Japanese. She read Modern Languages at Oxford and worked as an editor and film critic in England before emigrating to Australia. For the latest news from Lian, visit lianhearn.com, follow Lian on Twitter @LianHearn, or join the readers who have become Lian's friend on Facebook.

A Preview for this title is currently not available.

Books By Lian Hearn

Emperor of the Eight Islands by Lian Hearn
Paperback / softback, March 2016
$25.49 $29.99
Lord of the Darkwood by Lian Hearn
Paperback / softback, August 2016
$25.49 $29.99
Sibling Assassins: Children of the Otori Book 2 by Lian Hearn
Paperback / softback, January 2020
$28.04 $32.99
Brilliance of the Moon: Book 3 Tales of the Otori by Lian Hearn
Paperback / softback, January 2016
$16.99 $19.99