We are open but due to high demand and courier delays, delivery times are expected to be longer.
0

Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Description - Acts of Desperation by Megan Nolan

A bitingly honest, darkly funny debut novel about a toxic relationship and secret female desire, from an emerging star of Irish literature, for fans of Sally Rooney and Nora Ephron

**THE TIMES BESTSELLER**

*A NEW STATESMAN, OBSERVER, IRISH TIMES, i AND STYLIST BOOK OF 2021*

'Please believe the hype ... a seriously exciting writer' Sunday Times

'The millennial author everyone should be watching right now' Daily Telegraph

'Such brilliant writing about female desire, co-dependant love...Incredibly honest and visceral' Marian Keyes

Discover this bitingly honest, darkly funny debut novel about a toxic relationship and secret female desire, from an emerging star of Irish literature.

Love was the final consolation, would set ablaze the fields of my life in one go, leaving nothing behind. I thought of it as a force which would clean me and by its presence make me worthy of it. There was no religion in my life after early childhood, and a great faith in love was what I had cultivated instead. Oh, don't laugh at me for this, for being a woman who says this to you. I hear myself speak.

Even now, even after all that took place between us, I can still feel how moved I am by him. Ciaran was that downy, darkening blond of a baby just leaving its infancy. He was the most beautiful man I had ever seen. None of it mattered in the end; what he looked like, who he was, the things he would do to me. To make a beautiful man love and live with me had seemed - obviously, intuitively - the entire point of life. My need was greater than reality, stronger than the truth, more savage than either of us would eventually bear. How could it be true that a woman like me could need a man's love to feel like a person, to feel that I was worthy of life? And what would happen when I finally wore him down and took it?

'A dark, intense account of an obsessive love affair. It's great on the elation of falling in love and then its flip side, the anxiety, fixation and self-doubt. A really fine debut' David Nicholls

Buy Acts of Desperation by Megan Nolan from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9781787333369
Format: Paperback / softback
(216mm x 135mm x 21mm)
Pages: 288
Imprint: Jonathan Cape Ltd
Publisher: Vintage Publishing
Publish Date: 4-Mar-2021
Country of Publication: United Kingdom

Other Editions - Acts of Desperation by Megan Nolan

Book Reviews - Acts of Desperation by Megan Nolan

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Acts of Desperation book by Megan Nolan and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)


A Preview for this title is currently not available.