0

Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Description - The Archaic by Paul Bishop

The Archaic takes as its major reference points C.G. Jung's classic essay, 'Archaic Man' (1930), and Ernesto Grassi's paper on 'Archaic Theories of History' (1990). Moving beyond the confines of a Jungian framework to include other methodological approaches, this book explores the concept of the archaic. Defined as meaning 'old-fashioned', 'primitive', 'antiquated', the archaic is, in fact, much more than something very, very old: it is timeless, inasmuch as it is before time itself. Arche, Urgrund, Ungrund, 'primordial darkness', 'eternal nothing' are names for something essentially nameless, yet whose presence we nevertheless intuit. This book focuses on the reception of myth in the tradition of German Idealism or Romanticism (Creuzer, Schelling, Nietzsche), which not only looked back to earlier thinkers (such as Jacob Boehme) but also laid down roots for developments in twentieth-century thought (Ludwig Klages, Martin Heidegger).
The Archaic also includes: studies of the Germanic dimension of the archaic (Charles Bambach, Alan Cardew) a discussion of the mytho-phenomenological approach to the archaic (Robert Josef Kozljanic) a series of articles on Jung's understanding of the archaic (Paul Bishop, Susan Rowland, Robert Segal). This book will be of interest to psychoanalysts, anthropologists and phenomenologists, as well as students of psychology, cultural studies, religious studies, and philosophy, as it seeks to rehabilitate a concept of demonstrable and urgent relevance for our time.

Buy The Archaic by Paul Bishop from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780415547550
ISBN-10: 0415547555
Format: Hardback
(234mm x 156mm x mm)
Pages: 272
Imprint: Routledge
Publisher: Taylor & Francis Ltd
Publish Date: 28-Sep-2011
Country of Publication: United Kingdom

Book Reviews - The Archaic by Paul Bishop

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Archaic book by Paul Bishop and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)


Author Biography - Paul Bishop

Paul Bishop is Professor of German at the University of Glasgow. His previous publications include Analytical Psychology and German Classical Aesthetics, 2 vols (Routledge, 2007-2008) and Jung's "Answer to Job": A Commentary (Routledge, 2002).

A Preview for this title is currently not available.