Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

sign up for Boomerang Books BulletinGet Latest Book News + FREE Shipping. Subscribe to the Boomerang Books Bulletin eNewsletter right now!

Description - Automaton Biographies by Larissa Lai

Shortlisted for the Dorothy Livesay Poetry Prize "Automaton Biographies" is the first full-length solo poetry book by novelist Larissa Lai ("When Fox is a Thousand, Salt Fish Girl"). With an ear to the white noise of advertising, pop music, CNN, biotechnology, the "Norton Anthology of English Literature," cereal packaging, and MuchMusic, Lai explores the problem of what it means to exist on the boundaries of the human. The books consists of four long poems: "Rachel," a meditation in the voice of the cyborg figure Rachel from Ridley Scott's film "Blade Runner "and its source material, Philip K.Dick's "Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep?"; "nascent fashion," which addresses contemporary war and its excesses; "Ham," which circulates around the chimpanzee named Ham sent up into space as part of the Mercury Redstone missions by NASA in the 1960s and later donated to the Coulston Foundation for biomedicalresearch; and "auto matter," a kind of unfoldingautobiography told in poems.Ambitious, eloquent, and deeply personal, these poems taken as a whole are a personal and cultural history that jostles us out of our humanness and into our relations to animal, machine, language, and one another.

Buy Automaton Biographies by Larissa Lai from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9781551522920
ISBN-10: 1551522926
Format: Paperback
Pages: 167
Imprint: Arsenal Pulp Press
Publisher: Arsenal Pulp Press
Publish Date: 1-Apr-2010
Country of Publication: Canada

Book Reviews - Automaton Biographies by Larissa Lai

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Automaton Biographies book by Larissa Lai and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Write Review

Author Biography - Larissa Lai

Larissa Lai is the author of the novels When Fox is a Thousand and Salt Fish Girl (Thomas Allen, 2002), Eggs in the Basement (Nomados, 2009), and co-author (with Rita Wong) of the poetry book sybil unrest (Line Books, 2009). Born in La Jolla, California, Lai grew up in St. John?s, NF, and currently lives in Vancouver.

Books By Larissa Lai

Salt Fish Girl by Larissa Lai
Paperback, June 2008
When Fox Is A Thousand by Larissa Lai
Paperback, January 2005