0

Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

We are open! For operations and delivery updates due to COVID-19. (click here)

Description - Beneath a Burning Sky by Jenny Ashcroft

'Exotic and mysterious - I was gripped by this complex tale' Dinah Jefferies, author of number one bestselling The Tea Planter's Wife

'This story of twists and turns transcends era and genre. Absolutely brilliant' Kerry Fisher, author of The Silent Wife

'A must for fans of first-class writing, brilliant characters, fascinating locations and gripping plots' Tracy Buchanan, author of My Sister's Secret

'Beautifully described . . . A moving love story' Tracy Rees, author of Amy Snow

'Exquisitely written . . . unputdownable and unforgettable' Iona Grey, author of Letters to the Lost

A beautiful and heart-wrenching story of love and betrayal, set against a backdrop of British-occupied Egypt. Perfect for fans of Victoria Hislop, Dinah Jefferies and Leah Fleming.

When twenty-two-year-old Olivia is coerced into marriage by the cruel Alistair Sheldon she leaves England for Egypt, his home and the land of her own childhood. Reluctant as she is to go with Alistair, it's in her new home that she finds happiness in surprising places: she is reunited with her long-estranged sister, Clara, and falls - impossibly and illicitly - in love with her husband's boarder, Captain Edward Bertram.

Then Clara is abducted from one of the busiest streets in the city. Olivia is told it's thieves after ransom money, but she's convinced there's more to it. As she sets out to discover what's happened to the sister she's only just begun to know, she falls deeper into the shadowy underworld of Alexandria, putting her own life, and her chance at a future with Edward, the only man she's ever loved, at risk. Because, determined as Olivia is to find Clara, there are others who will stop at nothing to conceal what's become of her . . .

BENEATH A BURNING SKY is a novel of secrets, betrayal and, above all else, love. Set against the heat and intrigue of colonial Alexandria, this beautiful and heart-wrenching story will take your breath away.

Buy Beneath a Burning Sky by Jenny Ashcroft from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780751565034
ISBN-10: 0751565032
Format: Paperback / softback
(197mm x 128mm x 28mm)
Pages: 432
Imprint: Sphere
Publisher: Little, Brown Book Group
Publish Date: 29-Jun-2017
Country of Publication: United Kingdom

Other Editions - Beneath a Burning Sky by Jenny Ashcroft

Book Reviews - Beneath a Burning Sky by Jenny Ashcroft

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Beneath a Burning Sky book by Jenny Ashcroft and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)


Author Biography - Jenny Ashcroft

Jenny Ashcroft lives in Brighton with her husband and two children. Before that, she spent many years living and working in Australia and Asia - a time which gave her an enduring passion for stories set in exotic places. She has a degree in history, and has always been fascinated by the past - in particular the way that extraordinary events can transform the lives of normal people. Her first book, Beneath a Burning Sky, was an instant hit with readers who fell in love with Jenny's wonderful, evocative storytelling. Island in the East is her second novel, and her third novel Last Letter to Bombay will publish in November 2018. Keep in touch with Jenny by following her on Twitter (@Jenny_Ashcroft).

A Preview for this title is currently not available.

Books By Jenny Ashcroft

Beneath a Burning Sky by Jenny Ashcroft
Paperback / softback, November 2016
$26.34 $30.99
Island in the East by Jenny Ashcroft
Paperback / softback, October 2017