Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Description - Berlioz: A Listener's Guide by Victor Lederer

A bold innovator in the 19th century, Hector Berlioz was a musical dramatist with an output that is less familiar than it should be and often misunderstood. Victor Lederer introduces and surveys the music of Berlioz-from the early symphonic masterworks to the sacred music and concert overtures and to his mighty five-act opera Les Troyens. His most famous and popular pieces are the thrilling programmatic symphonies, the Symphonie fantastique and Harold en Italie. The "dramatic symphonies" Romeo et Juliette and La damnation de Faust are both driven by conflict and excitement, which contrast his piercing, long-limbed melodies and startling harmonic shifts. Berlioz's strongly profiled musical style possesses high rhythmic energy, and manic outbursts that are instantly identifiable as his, and he is widely acknowledged as one of the most innovative and effective orchestrators in history.

Buy Berlioz: A Listener's Guide by Victor Lederer from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9781538135587
Format: Paperback / softback
(230mm x 155mm x 12mm)
Pages: 182
Imprint: Rowman & Littlefield Publishers
Publisher: Rowman & Littlefield
Publish Date: 1-Aug-2021
Country of Publication: United States

Book Reviews - Berlioz: A Listener's Guide by Victor Lederer

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Berlioz: A Listener's Guide book by Victor Lederer and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

A Preview for this title is currently not available.