We are open! For operations and delivery updates due to COVID-19. (click here)
0

Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Description - Better Luck Next Time by Kate Hilton

'Kate Hilton's writing reminds me of Nora Ephron's work . . . Witty, poignant, and deeply observant, I loved every moment I spent with Hilton's latest novel!' Marissa Stapley, bestselling author of The Last Resort
It isn't easy being related to a feminist icon, especially when she's celebrating the greatest moment of her storied career.

Just ask the daughters of Lydia Hennessey, who could have it all if only they'd stop self-destructing. Mariana, the eldest, is on the verge of throwing away a distinguished reputation in journalism, along with her marriage. Nina, the middle daughter, has returned from a medical mission overseas as a changed woman but won't discuss it with anyone. And Beata, the youngest, has a hostile teenaged son who just discovered the existence of a father who didn't know about him either. Meanwhile, their cousin Zoe is making divorce look like a death-match while her brother, Zack, is grappling with the fallout from his popular television dramedy, which is based far too closely on Lydia herself.

Over the course of an eventful year, the Hennessey children contend with the big struggles of midlife: ageing parents, raging teens, crumbling marriages and bodies, new loves and the choice between playing it safe or taking life-altering risks. And as they inch toward a new definition of happiness they might even persuade their parents-and themselves-that they're all grown up.
Praise for Kate Hilton:

'Better Luck Next Time is a hilarious, captivating novel for fans of Where'd You Go, Bernadette and The Nest. If you've ever been part of a family, or wished perhaps you weren't, you'll adore this tender, wise novel about the ways that love imprisons and liberates?.' - Elizabeth Renzetti, author of Based on A True Story

'With Better Luck Next Time, Kate Hilton has crafted a novel that will make you belly laugh, tug at your heartstrings, and fall in love with the Hennessey-Goldstein families. Full of charm and depth, I loved this quirky family saga!' - Karma Brown, bestselling author of Come Away With Me

'Hilton reaches right into the hearts, minds and insecurities of women and let's them know they are not alone in their struggles. . . . So beautifully depicted you will want to read it again to pick up the wisdom you missed the first time through.' - Romantic Times on The Hole in the Middle (starred review)

'Hilton captures and distils the slight but constant ripping at the seams that can happen in a marriage when there is simply no time to nurture it. She writes about matrimony with rare honesty.' - The National Post on The Hole in the Middle

Buy Better Luck Next Time by Kate Hilton from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9781760878085
Format: Paperback / softback
(234mm x 153mm x mm)
Pages: 368
Imprint: Allen & Unwin
Publisher: Allen & Unwin
Publish Date: 16-Jun-2020
Country of Publication: Australia

Other Editions - Better Luck Next Time by Kate Hilton

Book Reviews - Better Luck Next Time by Kate Hilton

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Better Luck Next Time book by Kate Hilton and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)


A Preview for this title is currently not available.