Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

sign up for Boomerang Books BulletinGet Latest Book News + FREE Shipping. Subscribe to the Boomerang Books Bulletin eNewsletter right now!

Description - Plays Two by Torben Betts

Incarcerator Five Visions of the Faithful Silence and Violence the Last Days of Desire; The plays collected in this volume mark a radical change in the direction of Betts' writing as he moves away from social realism and black comedy towards language rich, theatrically-ambiguous tragedy. His hugely popular verse drama Incarcerator (White Bear and BAC) was a Time Out Critics choice, while his Five Visions of the Faithful (White Bear), is a series of uncompromising narratives exploring freedom, faith, death and desire. In Silence and Violence the wife of a war hero seduces a much-reviled sculptor as Betts examines the artist's quest for self-expression in a Philistine state. Betts' first radio play, The Last Days of Dosire, was commissioned by the BBC.

Buy Plays Two by Torben Betts from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9781840022001
ISBN-10: 1840022000
Format: Paperback
Pages: 304
Imprint: Oberon Books Ltd
Publisher: Oberon Books Ltd
Publish Date: 1-Jul-2001
Country of Publication: United Kingdom

Book Reviews - Plays Two by Torben Betts

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Plays Two book by Torben Betts and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Write Review

Author Biography - Torben Betts

Torben Betts read English Literature & English Language at the University of Liverpool before training and working as an actor. Works include: The Unconquered, Best New Play 2007 Critics Awards for Theatre in Scotland (Tron/Traverse/Arcola/Brits-off-Broadway); A Listening Heaven, nominated for Best New Play at the 2001 TMA Awards (Edinburgh Royal Lyceum); Lie of the Land, nominated for Edinburgh Fringe First Award, 2008 (Edinburgh Pleasance/Arcola); Clockwatching (Orange Tree Theatre); The Company Man (Orange Tree Theatre); The Biggleswades (Southwark Playhouse); Five Visions of the Faithful (Edinburgh Festival); The Lunatic Queen (Riverside Studios); The Error of Their Ways (HERE Arts Center, New York); The Swing of Things (Stephen Joseph Theatre, Scarborough).

Books By Torben Betts

National Joke by Torben Betts
Paperback, June 2016
What Falls Apart by Torben Betts
Paperback, April 2015
Invincible by Torben Betts
Paperback, March 2014
Torben Betts: Plays Three by Torben Betts
Paperback, September 2008