Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Get Latest Book News + FREE Shipping. Subscribe to the Boomerang Books Bulletin eNewsletter right now!

Description - Cabal by Clive Barker

A fabulous journey through the mind of the master of dark imaginative fiction, Clive Barker. The nightmare had begun...Boone knew that there was no place on this earth for him now; no happiness here, not even with Lori. He would let Hell claim him, let Death take him there. But Death itself seemed to shrink from Boone. No wonder, if he had indeed been the monster who had shattered, violated and shredded so many others' lives. And Decker had shown him the proof - the hellish photographs where the last victims were forever stilled, splayed in the last obscene moment of their torture. Boone's only refuge now was Midian - that awful, legendary place in which gathered the half-dead, the Nightbreed...

Buy Cabal by Clive Barker from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780006176664
ISBN-10: 0006176666
Format: Paperback
(178mm x 111mm x 546mm)
Pages: 272
Imprint: HarperVoyager
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
Publish Date: 11-Apr-1991
Country of Publication: United Kingdom

Book Reviews - Cabal by Clive Barker

US Kirkus Review » A crackerjack offering of horrors new and old from the author of The Damnation Game and Weaveworld (both 1987). What's new is the ferocious title short novel; what's old - but fresh to our shores - are the four short stories that follow, first published in Britain in 1983 as Volume VI of The Books of Blood. The novel, set in Canada, recasts in high style several of Barker's perennial themes: the erotic bond that survives even death; a magical world just out of sight; the abyss of human evil. Here, an emotionally disturbed man, Boone, is tricked into believing he's a serial killer by his shrink, Decker - the real killer. Boone runs to the isolated hamlet of Midian, where the police shoot him dead. His grieving lover, Lori, drawn to Midian, discovers there a hidden community of the undead - "the Nightbreed" - with Boone among them, given shelter because the monsters' blood flows in his veins, courtesy of a bite just before the police bullets struck. Lust between human and undead; violent vengeance as Boone and Decker clash; and the destruction of Midian ehsue as Barker erects his story in quick but vaulting prose ("Of all the rash and midnight promises made in the name of love, none, Boone now knew, was more certain to be broken than: 'I'll never leave you'"). After this allegro concerto of horror, the four stories appear as mere scales, early yet excellent practice in more traditional forms. A woman is compelled to haunt an ancient charnel house ("The Life of Death"); in "How Spoilers Bleed," jungle explorers endure an Indian curse; "Twilight at the Towers" illuminates truly inhuman spies: and, in the straightforward "The Last Illusion," a psychic detective battles demons bent on taking possession of a stage magician's soul. Glistening terrors, especially that novel, and yet more evidence - if anyone needs more - that Barker has dethroned King as horror's monarch. (Kirkus Reviews)

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Cabal book by Clive Barker and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Write Review

Author Biography - Clive Barker

Clive Barker was born in Liverpool in 1952. His earlier books include The Books of Blood, Cabal, and The Hellbound Heart. In addition to his work as a novelist and playwright, he also illustrates, writes, directs and produces for stage and screen. His films include Hellraiser, Hellbound, Nightbreed and Candyman. Clive lives in Beverly Hills, California

Customers Also Bought

Boomerang Books customers who bought Cabal by Clive Barker also bought the following titles:

Books By Clive Barker

Clive Barker's Nightbreed Vol. 3 by Clive Barker
Paperback, March 2017
Clive Barker's Great and Secret Show by Clive Barker
Hardback, November 2016
Clive Barker's Nightbreed Archive by Clive Barker
Hardback, October 2016
Midian Unmade by Clive Barker
Paperback / softback, September 2016