Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

A major novel from the internationally bestselling author of 'The Joy Luck Club', 'The Kitchen God's Wife' and 'The Hundred Secret Senses'. LuLing Young is in her eighties, and finally beginning to feel the effects of old age. Trying to hold on to the evaporating past, she begins to write down all that she can remember of her life as a girl in China. Meanwhile, her daughter Ruth, a ghostwriter for authors of self-help books, is losing the ability to speak up for herself in front of the man she lives with. LuLing can only look on, helpless: her prickly relationship with her daughter does not make it easy to discuss such matters. In turn, Ruth has begun to suspect that something is wrong with her mother: she says so many confusing and contradictory things. Ruth decides to move in with her ailing mother, and while tending to her discovers the story LuLing wrote in Chinese, of her tumultuous life growing up in a remote mountain village known as Immortal Heart. LuLing tells of the secrets passed along by her mute nursemaid, Precious Auntie; of a cave where dragon bones are mined and where Peking Man was discovered; of the crumbling ravine known as the End of the World, where Precious Auntie's bones lie, and of the curse that LuLing believes she released through betrayal. Like layers of sediment being removed, each page unfolds into an even greater mystery: Who was Precious Auntie, whose suicide changed the path of LuLing's life? Set in contemporary San Francisco and pre-war China, 'The Bonesetter's Daughter' is an excavation of the human spirit. With great warmth and humour, Amy Tan gives us a mesmerising story of a mother and daughter discovering together that what they share in their bones through history and heredity is priceless beyond measure.

Buy Bonesetter's Daughter book by Amy Tan from Australia's Online Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780006550433
ISBN-10: 0006550436
Format: Paperback
(197mm x 130mm x 19mm)
Pages: 352
Imprint: HarperPerennial
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
Publish Date: 1-Oct-2001
Country of Publication: United Kingdom


UK Kirkus Review » This fourth novel by Amy Tan explores the difficult relationship between Ruth, a Chinese-American woman, and LuLing, her Chinese mother. It's centrepiece is LuLing's account of her childhood in a remote mountain village in China and her relationship with her own mother - the bonesetter's daughter. LuLing also carries the secrets of her nursemaid, Precious Auntie, and their story unfolds to reveal an even greater mystery. Tan brilliantly combines the small details of everyday life with the larger issues of displacement, culture and language and the importance of shared family histories. (Kirkus UK)

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Bonesetter's Daughter book by Amy Tan and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Write Review

Author Biography - Amy Tan

Amy Tan is the author of five critically acclaimed, internationally bestselling novels. Her first novel, 'The Joy Luck Club', was nominated for the National Book Award and the National Book Critics Circle Award and was a recipient of the Commonwealth Gold Award. 'The Joy Luck Club' was also adapted into a feature film in 1994. Her subsequent novels are 'The Kitchen God's Wife', 'The Hundred Secret Senses', and 'The Bonesetter's Daughter' and 'Saving Fish from Drowning'. She lives in San Francisco and New York.

Books By Author Amy Tan

Joy Luck Club by Amy Tan

The Joy Luck Club

Paperback / softback, October 2016
Valley of Amazement by Amy Tan

The Valley of Amazement

Paperback / softback, July 2014
Opposite of Fate by Amy Tan

The Opposite of Fate

Paperback / softback, June 2009