Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

This long-awaited volume, a new selection of his later poems, spans ten major collections by one of America's most visionary and influential poets. Chosen by the author himself, the poems in Notes from the Air represent John Ashbery's best work from the past two decades, from the critically acclaimed April Galleons and Flow Chart to the 2005 National Book Award finalist Where Shall I Wander.While Ashbery has long been considered a powerful force in twentieth-century culture, Notes from the Air demonstrates clearly how important and relevant his writing continues to be, well into the twenty-first century. Many of the selections found here are regularly taught in university classrooms across the country, and critics and scholars vigorously debate his newest works as well as his classics. He has already published four major books since the turn of the new millennium, and, although 2007 marked his eightieth birthday, this legendary literary figure continues to write fresh, new, and vibrant poetry that remains as stimulating, provocative, and controversial as ever.Notes from the Air reveals, for the first time in one volume, the remarkable evolution of Ashbery's poetry from the mid-1980s into the new century, and offers an irresistible sampling of some of the finest work by a poet the New York Times has called a "national treasure."

Buy Notes from the Air book by John Ashbery from Australia's Online Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780061367182
ISBN-10: 0061367184
Format: Paperback / softback
(228mm x 177mm x 25mm)
Imprint: Ecco Press
Publisher: Ecco Press
Publish Date: 28-Oct-2008
Country of Publication: United States

Other Editions


» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Notes from the Air book by John Ashbery and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Write Review

Books By Author John Ashbery

Commotion of the Birds by John Ashbery

Commotion of the Birds

Hardback, November 2016
Once and for All by John Ashbery

Once and for All

Paperback, May 2016
Breezeway by John Ashbery


Paperback / softback, April 2016
Haunted House by John Ashbery

Haunted House

Paperback, April 2015