Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Sufism has made significant contributions to the spread of Islam and the development of various aspects of Islamic civilisation. Many conservative Muslims disagree with many popular Sufi practices, particularly saint worship, the visiting of tombs, and the incorporation of non-Islamic customs. Consequently, in recent centuries Sufism has been a target for Islamic reformist and modernist movements. Nasr is the preeminent Sufi scholar in the U.S., and in the tradition of Martin Buber's I and Thou, here provides the beliefs and vision of the mystical heart of Islam. A gentle anitdote to the extremist Muslim fundamentalists who capture the headlines and taint our perception of the world's fastest growing religion.

Buy The Garden of Truth book by Seyyed Hossein Nasr from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780061625992
ISBN-10: 006162599X
Format: Paperback
(203mm x 135mm x 16mm)
Pages: 272
Imprint: HarperOne
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers Inc
Publish Date: 13-Sep-2008
Country of Publication: United States

Other Editions

Reviews

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Garden of Truth book by Seyyed Hossein Nasr and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Write Review


Author Biography - Seyyed Hossein Nasr

Seyyed Hossein Nasr is university professor of Islamic Studies at George Washington University. Author of over fifty books, Professor Nasr is a well-known and highly respected intellectual figure both in the West and in the Islamic world. Born in Tehran, raised from the age of twelve in the United States, and a graduate of MIT and Harvard University, Nasr is well qualified to explain Islam to a Western audience. He appears frequently on Meet the Press, as well as other national news shows.

Books By Author Seyyed Hossein Nasr

Study Quran by Seyyed Hossein Nasr

The Study Quran

Paperback, December 2015
$172.15
Islamic Intellectual Tradition in Persia by Seyyed Hossein Nasr

The Islamic Intellectual Tradition in Persia

Paperback, April 2015
$63.89
Metaphysical Penetrations by Seyyed Hossein Nasr

Metaphysical Penetrations

Hardback, June 2014
$66.60
Divine Love by Seyyed Hossein Nasr

Divine Love

Hardback, July 2013
$95.40