Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Get Latest Book News + FREE Shipping. Subscribe to the Boomerang Books Bulletin eNewsletter right now!

Description - Once Is Enough by Miles Smeeton

The title of this book is Once Is Enough and is written by author Miles Smeeton. The book Once Is Enough is published by McGraw-Hill Education - Europe. The ISBN of this book is 9780071414319 and the format is Paperback. The publisher has not provided a book description for Once Is Enough by Miles Smeeton.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780071414319
ISBN-10: 0071414312
Format: Paperback
(210mm x 135mm x 18mm)
Imprint: McGraw-Hill Inc.,US
Publisher: McGraw-Hill Education - Europe
Publish Date: 30-Apr-2003
Country of Publication: United States

Book Reviews - Once Is Enough by Miles Smeeton

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Once Is Enough book by Miles Smeeton and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Write Review

Author Biography - Miles Smeeton

Miles Smeeton was born in Yorkshire, England, in 1906. In 1939, he and his wife Beryl attempted to climb 25,263-foot Tirich Mir, in the Himalaya, with Tenzing Norgay. Although they failed, Beryl achieved renown as one of the first women to climb so high. A career army officer, Miles served with distinction in World War II. In 1951, the Smeetons bought Tzu Hang in England and, though they had just learned to sail, sailed her to Canada. They next voyaged to the South Pacific, and Miles later wrote about that adventure in The Sea Was Our Village. In 1956, Miles and Beryl Smeeton embarked on the voyage described in Once Is Enough. In 1967, they made a third--and successful--Cape Horn attempt, sailing east to west. The Smeetons later founded the Cochrane Ecological Institute in Alberta, Canada, still run by their daughter. Jonathan Raban is a Fellow of the Royal Society of Literature, the editor of The Oxford Book of the Sea, and author of ten critically acclaimed books, including Passage to Juneau. He is the winner of the National Book Critics Circle Award, the Heinemann Award For Literature, and received the New York Times Editors' Choice for Book of the Year for Old Glory and Bad Land. He has been called (by The Guardian) "the finest writer afloat since Conrad."

Books By Miles Smeeton

Once Is Enough by Miles Smeeton
Paperback, January 2014