Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Australia's funniest writer' Clive James From eating oysters to the lost art of speech-making, Frank Moorhouse as The Inspector General applies his fastidious eye to the habits and ways of our society. Described by Clive James as Australia's Funniest Author, Frank Moorhouse brings satire, irreverence and mischievous wit to this ultimate compendium to sorting things out.

Buy The Inspector-General of Misconception: Despatches from the Office book by Frank Moorhouse from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780091841621
ISBN-10: 0091841623
Format: Paperback
(197mm x 130mm x 21mm)
Pages: 296
Imprint: Vintage (Australia)
Publisher: Random House Australia
Publish Date: 1-Mar-2002
Country of Publication: Australia


» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Inspector-General of Misconception: Despatches from the Office book by Frank Moorhouse and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Write Review

Author Biography - Frank Moorhouse

Frank Moorhouse was born in the coastal town of Nowra, NSW. He worked as an editor of small-town newspapers and as an administrator and in the 1970s became a full-time writer. He has written fiction, non fiction, screenplays and essays and edited many collections of writing. Forty-Seventeen was given a laudatory full-page review by Angela Carter in the New York Times and was named Book of the Year by the Age and 'moral winner' of the Booker Prize by the London magazine Blitz. Grand Days, the first novel in The Edith Trilogy, won the SA Premier's Award for Fiction. Dark Palace won the Miles Franklin Literary Award and was shortlisted for the NSW Premier's Literary Award, the Victorian Premier's Literary Award and the Age Book of the Year Award. Cold Light was shortlisted for the Miles Franklin and Barbara Jefferis Awards. Frank has undertaken numerous fellowships and his work has been translated into several languages. He was made a member of the Order of Australia for services to literature in 1985 and was awarded an honorary doctorate from Griffith University in 1997.

Books By Author Frank Moorhouse

Australia Under Surveillance by Frank Moorhouse

Australia Under Surveillance

Paperback, December 2014
Jonah by Frank Moorhouse


Paperback, July 2013
Cold Light by Frank Moorhouse

Cold Light

Paperback, November 2012
Dark Palace by Frank Moorhouse

Dark Palace

Paperback, November 2011