Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Morpho Eugenia and The Conjugal Angel are two fascinating novellas and, like A. S. Byatt's Booker Prize-winning novel, Possession, they are set in the mid-nineteenth century, weaving fact and fiction, reality and romance.

Buy Angels and Insects book by A. S. Byatt from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780099224310
ISBN-10: 0099224313
Format: Paperback
(198mm x 129mm x 19mm)
Pages: 304
Imprint: Vintage
Publisher: Vintage Publishing
Publish Date: 21-Oct-1993
Country of Publication: United Kingdom


UK Kirkus Review » In the form of two linked novellas, Byatt explores the background to Tennyson's poetic series 'In Memoriam', and also tells the story of how a passion for entomological travel and scientific discovery combines with the daily rituals of wealthy family life. As with all of Byatt's writing, there is strong physical sense of setting. In the first piece, Morpho Eugenia, Eugenia negotiates various romantic advances below a canopy of palm leaves in the Alabaster's conservatory. The sense of burgeoning and not entirely healthy desire contained within the cast-iron skeleton of the glass house is exploited perfectly. Forces beyond the artifice of polite conversation continue to pulse through The Conjugial Angel as Byatt explores the hold mesmerism and table rapping had on lonely, dispossessed ladies of the time. Byatt's narrative skill and artistry are underpinned by her awe-inspiring academic knowledge and she challenges our understanding of the Victorian period as well as delivering a first-class piece of fiction. (Kirkus UK)

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Angels and Insects book by A. S. Byatt and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Write Review

Author Biography - A. S. Byatt

A.S. Byatt is internationally acclaimed as a novelist, short story-writer and critic. Her books include Possession (winner of the Booker Prize in 1990), the quartet of The Virgin in the Garden, Still Life, Babel Tower and A Whistling Woman, as well as her latest, The Children's Book. Educated at York and Newnham College, Cambridge, she taught at the Central School of Art and Design, and was Senior Lecturer in English at University College, London, before becoming a full-time writer in 1983. She was appointed CBE in 1990 and DBE in 1999.

Books By Author A. S. Byatt

Peacock and Vine by A. S. Byatt

Peacock and Vine

Hardback, July 2016
Ragnarok by A. S. Byatt


Paperback, July 2016
Possession by A. S. Byatt


Hardback, October 2013
Rituals by A. S. Byatt


Paperback, July 2013