1300 36 33 32

BY THE AUTHOR OF IT CAN'T HAPPEN HERE. Businessman George F. Babbitt loves the latest appliances, making money and the Republican party. In fact, he loves being a Solid Citizen even more than he loves his wife. But Babbitt comes to resent the middle class trappings he has worked so hard to acquire. Realising that his life is devoid of meaning, he grows determined to transcend his trivial existence and search for a greater purpose. In the economic boom years of 1920s' America, Babbitt became a symbol of middle-class mediocrity, and his name an enduring part of the American lexicon.

Buy Babbitt book by Sinclair Lewis from Australia's Online Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780099264712
ISBN-10: 0099264714
Format: Paperback
(198mm x 130mm x 24mm)
Pages: 384
Imprint: Vintage Classics
Publisher: Vintage Publishing
Publish Date: 3-Jan-1998
Country of Publication: United Kingdom


» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Babbitt book by Sinclair Lewis and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a member - it's free to sign up!)

Write Review

Author Biography - Sinclair Lewis

Sinclair Lewis was an American playwright and novelist. Born in 1885, he received his bachelor's degree from Yale University in 1908 and published his first novel, Hike and the Aeroplane, in 1912. He published Babbitt, perhaps his most famous work, in 1922 and in 1926 he was awarded the Pulitzer Prize for his novel Arrowsmith but rejected it. In 1930 he was the first American to be awarded the Nobel Prize for Literature. He died in Rome in 1951 and his last novel World So Wide was published posthumously.

Books By Author Sinclair Lewis

It Can't Happen Here by Sinclair Lewis

It Can't Happen Here

Paperback, January 2017
Babbitt by Sinclair Lewis


Paperback / softback, August 2015
Main Street by Sinclair Lewis

Main Street

Paperback, January 2011
Free Air (Dodo Press) by Sinclair Lewis

Free Air (Dodo Press)

Paperback / softback, November 2008