Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Get Latest Book News + FREE Shipping. Subscribe to the Boomerang Books Bulletin eNewsletter right now!

Description - The Family Moskat by Isaac Bashevis Singer

In the topsy-turvy years between the dawn of the twentieth century and the dark days of 1939, the Moskat family battled on. But like many Jewish families in Poland they can no longer turn a blind eye to the dwindling of their fortunes. In Warsaw, where saints mingle with swindlers, tough Zionists argue with mystic philosophers, and medieval rabbis rub shoulders with ultra-modern painters, life is inexorably changing. Secularism and war inch nearer and the family Moskat clings on.

Buy The Family Moskat by Isaac Bashevis Singer from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780099285489
ISBN-10: 0099285487
Format: Paperback
(198mm x 129mm x 35mm)
Pages: 768
Imprint: Vintage
Publisher: Vintage Publishing
Publish Date: 7-Dec-2000
Country of Publication: United Kingdom

Book Reviews - The Family Moskat by Isaac Bashevis Singer

US Kirkus Review » A closely meshed, heavily patterned family saga, this covers the years from before World War I and up to the bombing of Warsaw of World War II in the fortunes of the Mosk??. Reb Meshulam Moskat, through his unpredictable actions, has acquired great wealth and notoriety in Warsaw's ghetto and when at 80 he marries for the third time he adds to his legend. His new step-daughter, Adele, and his granddaughter, Hadassah, are both attracted to the provincial greenhorn, Asa Heshel Bannet but although it is Hadassah he loves, It is Adele he marries and the triangle continues until he meets Barbara. After Meshulam's death, through the years the family's way changes - there is a break to America, to Palestine, they die, marry, fight, argue, they watch the shifts during the war and see the family fortune, most of which has been stolen by their father's agent, dissipate as does their adherence to the Chassidic group and with the bombing it is Death who is the messiah for all. A detailed accounting of a part of the past, of a type of life and people now wiped out, this is impressive in its scope. (Kirkus Reviews)

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Family Moskat book by Isaac Bashevis Singer and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Write Review

Author Biography - Isaac Bashevis Singer

Isaac Bashevis Singer was born in 1904, in Poland, the son of a rabbi. Fleeing fascism in 1935, he emigrated to America, penniless and knowing little English. 'I think that the whole of human history is one big Holocaust,' he said in 1987, when asked why there was no direct mention of the Holocaust in his fiction. 'It is not only Jewish history. We can call human history the history of the human Holocaust'. Singer's fiction - novels such as The Family Moskat (1950) and The Magician of Lublin (1960), and story collections such as Gimpel the Fool (1957) and The Spinoza of Market Street (1961) - became admired internationally and he was awarded the Nobel prize in 1978. He died in 1998.

Books By Isaac Bashevis Singer

Isaac Bashevis Singer: The Collected Stories by Isaac Bashevis Singer
Hardback, January 2017
Magician of Lublin by Isaac Bashevis Singer
Paperback, November 2016
Parakeet Named Dreidel by Isaac Bashevis Singer
Hardback, September 2015
Why Noah Chose the Dove by Isaac Bashevis Singer
Paperback / softback, June 2013