Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Unruly Times is a superlative portrait of the relationship between Wordsworth and Coleridge, and a fascinating exploration of the Romantic Movement and the dramatic events that shaped it. With a novelist's insight and eye for detail, A. S. Byatt brings alive this tumultuous period and shows a deep understanding of the effects upon the minds of Wordsworth, Coleridge and their contemporaries - de Quincey, Lamb, Hazlitt, Byron and Keats.

Buy Unruly Times book by A. S. Byatt from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780099302230
ISBN-10: 0099302233
Format: Paperback
(198mm x 127mm x 18mm)
Pages: 288
Imprint: Vintage
Publisher: Vintage Publishing
Publish Date: 3-Jul-1997
Country of Publication: United Kingdom

Other Editions


UK Kirkus Review » William Wordsworth and Samuel Taylor Coleridge first met in 1795. Wordsworth had spent a year in Paris and returned shocked and disillusioned by the terror, and guilt-ridden by his affair with Annette Vallon and their illegitimate child. Reserved, uncertain of his future, the only person he felt happy with was his sister Dorothy. Coleridge, eloquent, brilliant ('entirely led away by the feeling of the moment', wrote a contemporary), was searching for stability. Their resulting friendship, first manifest by the publication of Lyrical Ballads in 1796, is traced through many years and many vicissitudes in Byatt's erudite, sympathetic study of their lives and turbulent times. First published in 1970, re-issued unchanged but for the author's addendum about the subsequent discovery of William and Mary's 'revelatory' correspondence. (Kirkus UK)

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Unruly Times book by A. S. Byatt and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Write Review

Author Biography - A. S. Byatt

A.S. Byatt is internationally acclaimed as a novelist, short story-writer and critic. Her books include Possession (winner of the Booker Prize in 1990), and the quartet of The Virgin in the Garden, Still Life, Babel Tower and A Whistling Woman. Educated at York and Newnham College, Cambridge, she taught at the Central School of Art and Design, and was Senior Lecturer in English at University College, London, before becoming a full-time writer in 1983. She was appointed CBE in 1990 and DBE in 1999.

Books By Author A. S. Byatt

Peacock and Vine by A. S. Byatt

Peacock and Vine

Hardback, July 2016
Ragnarok by A. S. Byatt


Paperback, July 2016
Possession by A. S. Byatt


Hardback, October 2013
Rituals by A. S. Byatt


Paperback, July 2013