Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Description - The Lent Jewels by David Hughes

In one spring month of 1856 Archibald Campbell Tait (later to be Archbishop of Canterbury) and his wife Catharine suffered the loss of five daughters, aged between two and ten, in an epidemic of scarlet fever. In his diary Tait refers to these beloved children as 'the lent jewels'. The couple bore their bereavement with a fortitude that could be sustained only by faith. Without similar convictions, but in the hope of laying bare a comparable belief for himself, David Hughes explores the themes of love and loss, intermingling his own experience, both as child and father, with the story of another of Tait's contemporaries, someone with a different but nonetheless powerful focus on life, a man known only as 'Walter', author of the erotic memoir My Secret Life. At the same time Catharine was drowning her grief in words by writing a heartbreaking account of her children's deaths. All these presences, and more modern ones, haunt the chapters of this many-layered documentary. With a dexterity of style and abundance of sympathy that have made him so appealing a writer, Hughes now delves into two centuries of underlying attitudes to sex, dreams and mortality, in an effort to reconcile them

Buy The Lent Jewels by David Hughes from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780099435075
ISBN-10: 0099435071
Format: Paperback
(198mm x 129mm x 14mm)
Pages: 240
Imprint: Arrow Books Ltd
Publisher: Cornerstone
Publish Date: 3-Apr-2003
Country of Publication: United Kingdom

Other Editions - The Lent Jewels by David Hughes

Book Reviews - The Lent Jewels by David Hughes

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Lent Jewels book by David Hughes and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Write Review

Author Biography - David Hughes

David Hughes is the author of eleven novels, including The Imperial German Dinner Service, But For Bunter and The Pork Butcher, which won the WH Smith Literary Award, as well as a critical biography of J. B. Priestley. He has reviewed books, theatre and films in many newspapers and is vice president of the Royal Society of Literature. With his wife, daughter and son he lives in north Lambeth and east Kent.

Books By David Hughes

Pillbox by David Hughes
Hardback, July 2015
Organic Syntheses by David Hughes
Hardback, April 2014
Corporate Residence by David Hughes
Paperback, October 2013
Gilroy Was Good for Guinness by David Hughes
Hardback, September 2013