Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Get Latest Book News + FREE Shipping. Subscribe to the Boomerang Books Bulletin eNewsletter right now!

Description - Six Degrees by Duncan J. Watts

Six degrees of separation' is a cliche, as is 'it's a small world', both cliches of the language and cliches of everyone's experience. We all live in tightly bonded social networks, yet linked to vast numbers of people more closely than we sometimes think. Only in recent years have scientists begun to apply insights from the theoretical study of networks to understand forms as superficially different as social networks and electrical networks, computer networks and economic networks, and to show how common principles underlie them all. Duncan Watts explores the science of networks and its implications, ranging from the Dutch tulipmania of the 17th century to the success of Harry Potter, from the impact of September 11 on Manhattan to the brain of the sea-slug, from the processes that lead to stockmarket crashes to the structure of the world wide web.

Buy Six Degrees by Duncan J. Watts from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780099444961
ISBN-10: 0099444968
Format: Paperback
(199mm x 131mm x 25mm)
Pages: 368
Imprint: Vintage
Publisher: Vintage Publishing
Publish Date: 6-May-2004
Country of Publication: United Kingdom

Other Editions - Six Degrees by Duncan J. Watts

Book Reviews - Six Degrees by Duncan J. Watts

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Six Degrees book by Duncan J. Watts and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Write Review

Author Biography - Duncan J. Watts

An Australian, born in Canada, Duncan Watts currently teaches at Columbia University in New York. He is the author of Small Worlds- The Dynamics of Networks- Between Order and Randomness (Princeton University Press; 1999).

Books By Duncan J. Watts

Everything is Obvious by Duncan J. Watts
Paperback, March 2012
Structure and Dynamics of Networks by Duncan J. Watts
Paperback, April 2006
Six Degrees by Duncan J. Watts
Paperback, February 2004