1300 36 33 32

Set in the aftermath of the Great War, "A Child of Her Time" is a story of prejudice, passion and one woman's struggle to fight for what she really wants in life - against all odds. At twenty-five, teacher Phyllis Bird is still living with her parents in a quiet Hampshire village. With so many young men lost in the Great War, including her own brothers, her life is empty and her future without hope. Until, desperate to break out of her mundane existence, she decides to take up the position of nursery maid in the London home of acclaimed playwright Harold Berridge. Befriended by the actress Maud Ling and thrown into the glamorous but fickle world of the cinema, Phyllis falls passionately in love with Maud's younger brother Teddy. But Teddy's heart lies elsewhere, and when tragedy strikes the Berridge household a heartbroken Phyllis is forced to leave. Six months later, Phyllis has started to rebuild her life but her world is turned upside down once more when she is invited to a party at Maud Ling's film studios. For there she falls under the spell of the charming but devious American actor Denver Towers, with disastrous consequences...

Buy Child of Her Time book by Maggie Bennett from Australia's Online Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780099453154
ISBN-10: 0099453150
Format: Paperback
(178mm x 110mm x 28mm)
Pages: 480
Imprint: Arrow Books Ltd
Publisher: Cornerstone
Publish Date: 16-Sep-2004
Country of Publication: United Kingdom


» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Child of Her Time book by Maggie Bennett and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a member - it's free to sign up!)

Write Review

Author Biography - Maggie Bennett

Maggie Bennett was born in Hampshire. She left school at eighteen and started general nursing training and, after a year as a staff nurse, she went on to train as a midwife. She married at thirty-five, and moved to Manchester where her two daughters were born; she later returned to work as a midwife until her retirement in 1991. She took a correspondence course in creative writing after her husband's death in 1983, and started writing articles and short stories. Her first novel, A Child's Voice Calling, was published in 2002, followed by A Child at the Door and A Carriage for the Midwife in 2003.

Books By Author Maggie Bennett

Country Doctor's Choice by Maggie Bennett

The Country Doctor's Choice

Paperback, March 2015
Family's Duty by Maggie Bennett

A Family's Duty

Paperback, November 2013
Carpenter's Children by Maggie Bennett

The Carpenter's Children

Paperback, March 2010
Carriage for the Midwife by Maggie Bennett

A Carriage for the Midwife

Paperback, September 2003