Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Description - Have Mercy on Us All by Fred Vargas

Joss le Guern is a town crier in Paris's 14th arrondissement. He calls out the local news three times a day to all who will listen. Over the course of a few days, however, a number of enigmatic and disturbing messages are slipped in to the daily news, and he becomes increasingly alarmed. Superintendent Adamsberg is visited by an extremely troubled woman who has found strange marks on the door of her building- upside down 4s marked out in black paint. This, and the appearance of the frightening messages, are exactly the kind of mysteries Adamsberg loves. In the course of his inquiries he begins to sense a sinister and often grotesque menace. And when a charred corpse is found, Adamsberg knows he's dealing with a particularly serious and chilling case. 'Have Mercy on us All' is Fred Vargas's masterpiece so far. She is exceptional at building mood and tension, and, as Henning Mankell portrays the social realities of contemporary Sweden in his Inspector Wallander mysteries, so Vargas does the same for Paris and France.

Buy Have Mercy on Us All by Fred Vargas from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780099453642
ISBN-10: 0099453649
Format: Paperback
(198mm x 129mm x 25mm)
Pages: 400
Imprint: Vintage
Publisher: Vintage Publishing
Publish Date: 7-Oct-2004
Country of Publication: United Kingdom

Other Editions - Have Mercy on Us All by Fred Vargas

Book Reviews - Have Mercy on Us All by Fred Vargas

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Have Mercy on Us All book by Fred Vargas and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Write Review

Author Biography - Fred Vargas

Fred Vargas was born in Paris in 1957. As well as being a best-selling author in France, she is a historian and archaeologist by training.

Books By Fred Vargas

Accordionist by Fred Vargas
Paperback, August 2017
Climate of Fear by Fred Vargas
Paperback, June 2017
Dog Will Have His Day by Fred Vargas
Paperback, April 2015
Ghost Riders of Ordebec by Fred Vargas
Paperback, February 2014