Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Description - Limbo Lodge by Joan Aiken

Dido Twite on board a ship bound for England is waylaid by a search for Lord Herodsfoot on the tropical island of Aratu. Aratu means the Island of Pearl Snakes in the Dilendi language and a bite from one of them can do for you in a brace of shakes. That is only one of many hazards encountered by Dido as she searches for the lost Lord reputedly to be found in Limbo Lodge. For who can she trust as she tramps across the island - and when she finally approached the lodge it hardly seems to be welcoming. Limbo Lodge was sited at the edge of the forest line, among clumps of clove and djeela trees, in a kind of wild garden. Over to the eastern boundary of this, the ground seemed to come to an abrupt stop; here, Dido guessed, was the Cliff of Death '

Buy Limbo Lodge by Joan Aiken from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780099456674
ISBN-10: 0099456672
Format: Paperback
(199mm x 130mm x 14mm)
Pages: 224
Imprint: Red Fox
Publisher: Random House Children's Publishers UK
Publish Date: 25-Feb-2004
Country of Publication: United Kingdom

Other Editions - Limbo Lodge by Joan Aiken

Book Reviews - Limbo Lodge by Joan Aiken

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Limbo Lodge book by Joan Aiken and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Write Review

Author Biography - Joan Aiken

Prize-winning Joan Aiken was born in Sussex in 1924 and came from a family of writers. Her father was the novelist and poet, Conrad Aiken and her sister, Jane Aiken Hodge, writes historical fiction for adults. Before joining the 'family business' herself, Joan had a variety of jobs, including working for the BBC, the United Nations Information Centre and then as features editor for a short story magazine. Her first children's novel, The Kingdom of the Cave was published in 1960. Since then she has written over 100 books for young readers and adults and has been awarded the MBE for her services to literature. Joan Aiken died in 2004.

Books By Joan Aiken

Five-Minute Marriage by Joan Aiken
Paperback, March 2017
Gift Giving: Favourite Stories by Joan Aiken
Paperback, November 2016
Girl from Paris by Joan Aiken
Paperback, November 2016
Weeping Ash by Joan Aiken
Paperback, October 2016