Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Description - Three Junes by Julia Glass

The 2002 US National Book Award winner for fiction - following the 2001 winner, Ha Jin's Waiting. In this captivating debut novel, Julia Glass depicts the life and loves of the McLeod family during three crucial summers spanning a decade. Paul McLeod, patriarch of a Scottish family and a retired newspaper editor and proprietor, is on a package tour of Greece after the death of his wife. The story of his departure from the family home in Scotland and late gesture towards some sort of freedom gives way to his eldest son's life (Fenno). Fenno protects his heart by putting himself under emotional quarantine throughout his life as a young gay man in Manhattan. When he returns home for his father's funeral, this emotional isolation cannot be sustained when he is confronted by a choice that puts him at the centre of his family and its future. The stubborn progress of life and love continues when Fern, a young American artist who met Paul in Greece, meets Fenno after her husband's recent death, under circumstances that left her full of guilt and self-doubt. Three Junes is a novel about how we live, and live fully, beyond grief and betrayals of the heart, and how family ties (those that we make as well as those that we are born into) can offer redemption and joy.

Buy Three Junes by Julia Glass from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780099460299
ISBN-10: 0099460297
Format: Paperback
(197mm x 129mm x 33mm)
Pages: 544
Imprint: Arrow Books Ltd
Publisher: Cornerstone
Publish Date: 24-May-2003
Country of Publication: United Kingdom

Book Reviews - Three Junes by Julia Glass

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Three Junes book by Julia Glass and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Write Review

Author Biography - Julia Glass

Julia Glass was awarded a 2000 New York Foundation for the Arts Fellowship in fiction writing and has won several prizes for her short stories, including three Nelson Algren Awards and the Tobias Wolff Award.

Books By Julia Glass

House Among the Trees by Julia Glass
Hardback, June 2017
And the Dark Sacred Night by Julia Glass
Paperback, January 2015
Widower's Tale by Julia Glass
Paperback, August 2011
I See You Everywhere by Julia Glass
Paperback, August 2009