Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Description - River Of The Brokenhearted by David Adams Richards

Janie McCleary runs one of the first movie theatres in New Brunswick. A successful woman in a world of men, she is ostracized, a victim of double-dealing and overt violence. She trusts no one outside her family. panning generations, River of the Brokenhearted explores the life of this formidable woman, a pioneer before the age of feminism, and her legacy as it unfolds tragically in the lives of her son and grandchildren. ritten with aching compassion and masterful sophistication, River of the Brokenhearted muses on the tyranny of memory and history, and peers into the hearts of these extraordinary characters. There Richards finds an alchemy of venality and goodwill, of deceit and brotherliness, of cruelty and love. nce again, David Adams Richards has brought us a work of astonishing grace, rooted on the great Miramichi River of New Brunswick, but universal in scope. A contemporary masterpiece that, in the tradition of Tolstoy, Camus and Melville, reminds us that redemption is to be found in the suffering of innocents.' Washington Post (a Best Book of 2002) An incomparable voyage into humanity's flawed heart' he Scotsman David Adams Richards' characters achieve redempti

Buy River Of The Brokenhearted by David Adams Richards from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780099466598
ISBN-10: 0099466597
Format: Paperback
(198mm x 130mm x 26mm)
Pages: 400
Imprint: Vintage
Publisher: Vintage Publishing
Publish Date: 3-Mar-2005
Country of Publication: United Kingdom

Book Reviews - River Of The Brokenhearted by David Adams Richards

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about River Of The Brokenhearted book by David Adams Richards and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Write Review


Author Biography - David Adams Richards

David Adams Richards' most recent novel, Mercy Among the Children, won the 2000 Giller Prize and was nominated for the Governor General's Award and the Trillium Award. His novel The Bay of Love and Sorrows, published in 1998, has been made into a feature film.

Books By David Adams Richards

River of the Brokenhearted by David Adams Richards
Paperback, August 2014
$25.68
Mercy Among the Children by David Adams Richards
Paperback, November 2012
$25.68