Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Any book of stories from Bernard MacLaverty is a cause for celebration, but Matters of Life and Death is more than that, as it is - without question - one of the finest contemporary examples of the short story as a genre. Beginning with the sudden, nauseating terror of a family caught up in an explosion of shocking sectarian violence and ending with the white-out of an Iowa blizzard and a different kind of fear, Matters of Life and Death is a book about bonds and connections, made and broken, secret and known. Vivid, beautifully controlled and written with effortless skill and empathy, these stories are object lessons in the art of short fiction.

Buy Matters of Life and Death book by Bernard MacLaverty from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780099493037
ISBN-10: 0099493039
Format: Paperback
(197mm x 130mm x 15mm)
Pages: 240
Imprint: Vintage
Publisher: Vintage Publishing
Publish Date: 3-May-2007
Country of Publication: United Kingdom


US Kirkus Review » Eleven new stories from MacLaverty (The Anatomy School, 2002, etc.) reveal the Irish-born, Glasgow-resident writer's uncanny knack for elucidating character with telling phrases and homely details.The title piece, delivered in two parts titled "Learning to Dance" and "Visiting Takabuti," concerns lessons of loss. Two young boys stay with glamorous parental friends while arrangements for their father's funeral are made. In "Learning to Dance," the eldest brother's perceptions deftly mirror the grief that well-meaning gestures seek to blanket; and "Visiting Takabuti" shows an elderly woman, who lost her only love in WWI, trying to demonstrate to her grand-nephews, by way of a museum mummy exhibit, the soul's way of bidding adieu. In "The Wedding Ring," the body of a sheltered Irish virgin killed in 1904 is found and discovered to have been secretly married. Although readers may cheer a woman's cool-headed way of avenging her rape in "Up the Coast," forays into her assailant's skewed consciousness verge too closely to Cape Fear-type melodrama. The most moving story ("The Clinic") imparts Chekhovian insights to a day of diabetes testing. "A Trusted Neighbour" exposes the naivete of the narrator's assumption that religious tolerance reigns in his Belfast neighborhood through the inexplicable treachery of the bland motorcycle-rider who lives next door. "A Belfast Memory" reads like nostalgic fluff until the bitter gall of a soccer team's persecution bubbles up during a Sunday afternoon tea. Belfast is also the setting for "On the Roundabout," which details a family's rescue of a Protestant mistaken for a Fenian, and for "The Trojan Sofa," about a scheme to burgle Orangemen's homes. An aged woman is consigned "only temporarily" to a nursing home in "The Assessment," a finely rendered tale marred by overly familiar subject matter. When a Scottish poet-in-residence at a Midwestern university gets lost in a blizzard ("Winter Storm"), unintended echoes of a Garrison Keillor riff and a pat ending undermine the subject matter's gravitas.Despite some rough patches, a strong collection embodying the seasoned skill of a master. (Kirkus Reviews)

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Matters of Life and Death book by Bernard MacLaverty and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Write Review

Author Biography - Bernard MacLaverty

Bernard MacLaverty lives in Glasgow. This is his fifth novel. He has written five collections of stories and four other novels, including Grace Notes which was shortlisted for the Booker Prize and won the Saltire Scottish Book of the Year Award. He has written versions of his fiction for other media - radio and television plays, screenplays and libretti.

Books By Author Bernard MacLaverty

Midwinter Break by Bernard MacLaverty

Midwinter Break

Hardback, August 2017
Collected Stories by Bernard MacLaverty

Collected Stories

Paperback, October 2014
Walking the Dog by Bernard MacLaverty

Walking the Dog

Paperback, September 2012
Anatomy School by Bernard MacLaverty

The Anatomy School

Paperback, August 2003