Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Description - Documents Concerning Rubashov the Gambler by Carl-Johan Vallgren

St Petersburg, 1899. Obsessive gambler Rubashov has played every game in town. Now on New Year's Eve, he finds himself on the brink of ruin, and decides to make a bid for the ultimate rush, the biggest gamble ever, to challenge the Devil to a poker game. The Devil accepts the invitation and unsurprisingly Rubashov loses. However, the price is not straight to hell as he expected (hell is full and has been for years), the punishment is immortality. Rubashov has great difficulty coming to terms with his ever-lasting life; he now sees no end to what is already a miserable existence. Unsuccessful suicide attempts lead him to take up Russian roulette, but before long the money is piling up and he has amassed a small fortune, enabling him to embark on a very different way of life... In this bizarre trip through Europe, Rubashov encounters some of the twentieth century's most notorious characters. Vallgren s bizarre picaresque tale is destined to stand alongside The Master and Margarita as a genre classic, and for fans of The Horrific Suffering of the Mind-reading Monster Hercules Barefoot..., Rubashov s adventures will be sheer delight.

Buy Documents Concerning Rubashov the Gambler by Carl-Johan Vallgren from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780099498247
ISBN-10: 0099498243
Format: Paperback
(197mm x 129mm x 19mm)
Pages: 304
Imprint: Vintage
Publisher: Vintage Publishing
Publish Date: 3-Jul-2008
Country of Publication: United Kingdom

Other Editions - Documents Concerning Rubashov the Gambler by Carl-Johan Vallgren

Book Reviews - Documents Concerning Rubashov the Gambler by Carl-Johan Vallgren

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Documents Concerning Rubashov the Gambler book by Carl-Johan Vallgren and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Write Review


Author Biography - Carl-Johan Vallgren

CARL-JOHAN VALLGREN was born in 1964. He is the author of eight novels, of which The Horrific Sufferings of the Mind-reading Monster Hercules Barefoot...was the first novel to be appear in English. His work has been translated into eleven languages. He lives in Stockholm.

Books By Carl-Johan Vallgren

Boy in the Shadows by Carl-Johan Vallgren
Paperback / softback, May 2017
$29.40
Tunnel by Carl-Johan Vallgren
Paperback, May 2017
$17.99
Merman by Carl-Johan Vallgren
Hardback, December 2015
$40.30