Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Description - BUtterfield 8 by John O'Hara

On this Sunday morning in May, this girl who was later to be the cause of a sensation in New York awoke much too early for her night before ... This particular morning Gloria finds herself alone in a stranger s apartment with nothing but a torn evening dress and her stockings and panties. When she takes a fur coat from the wardrobe to wear home, she sets in train a series of events that will lead to tragedy. A bestseller on its first publication, BUtterfield 8 is the glittering story of a 1930s glamour girl whose ill-starred entanglement with a respectable married man is set against a backdrop of Manhattan bars and bedrooms.

Buy BUtterfield 8 by John O'Hara from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780099518334
ISBN-10: 0099518333
Format: Paperback
(196mm x 129mm x 15mm)
Pages: 240
Imprint: Vintage Classics
Publisher: Vintage Publishing
Publish Date: 5-Jan-2008
Country of Publication: United Kingdom

Book Reviews - BUtterfield 8 by John O'Hara

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about BUtterfield 8 book by John O'Hara and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Write Review

Author Biography - John O'Hara

John O'Hara was born in Pennsylvania on 31 January 1905. His first novel, Appointment in Samarra (1934), won him instant acclaim, and quickly came to be regarded as one of the most prominent writers in America. He won the National Book Award for his novel Ten North Frederick and had more stories published in the New Yorker than anyone in the history of the magazine. His fourteen novels include A Rage to Live, Pal Joey, BUtterfield 8 and From the Terrace. John O'Hara died on 11 April 1970.

Books By John O'Hara

John O'Hara: Stories by John O'Hara
Hardback, September 2016
Pal Joey by John O'Hara
Paperback, January 2016
Ten North Frederick by John O'Hara
Paperback, June 2014
Butterfield 8 by John O'Hara
Hardback, December 2013