Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Description - Liars in Love by Richard Yates

With his second collection of short stories, Richard Yates continues to extend his range as a writer of stunning power and eloquence. Liars in Love is concerned with troubled relations and the elusive nature of truth- ope, dread, disorder, and a nervous entangling of separate lives in Greenwich Village during the Depression, as seen by a child, in 'Oh, Joseph, I m So Tired'. The volatile, perilous course of events set in motion when two divorced mothers agree to pool their resources and live together, with their children in 'Trying Out for the Race'. A young American soldier s too-abrupt postwar reunion, on foreign soil, with the lovely, dismayingly grown-up sister he hasn t seen since he was eleven and she was ten, in 'A Compassionate Leave'. The seven stories in this collection showcase Yates's extraordinary gift for observation and description. The last and longest of them, a rich, lucid, and compelling piece called 'Saying Goodbye to Sally', achieves a fitting conclusion for the book and a resonant final statement of its theme.

Buy Liars in Love by Richard Yates from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780099518594
ISBN-10: 0099518597
Format: Paperback
(198mm x 129mm x 18mm)
Pages: 288
Imprint: Vintage Classics
Publisher: Vintage Publishing
Publish Date: 1-May-2008
Country of Publication: United Kingdom

Other Editions - Liars in Love by Richard Yates

Book Reviews - Liars in Love by Richard Yates

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Liars in Love book by Richard Yates and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Write Review

Author Biography - Richard Yates

Richard Yates was born in 1926 in New York and lived in California. His prize-winning stories began to appear in 1953 and his first novel, Revolutionary Road, was nominated for the National Book Award in 1961. He is the author of eight other works, including the novels A Good School, The Easter Parade, and Disturbing the Peace, and two collections of short stories, Eleven Kinds of Loneliness and Liars in Love. He died in 1992.

Books By Richard Yates

Young Hearts Crying by Richard Yates
Paperback, March 2009
Special Providence by Richard Yates
Paperback, March 2009
Revolutionary Road by Richard Yates
Paperback, January 2009