Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Get Latest Book News + FREE Shipping. Subscribe to the Boomerang Books Bulletin eNewsletter right now!

Description - In The Wake by Per Petterson

Arvid has lost his parents and his two younger brothers in a ferry accident. Only he and his brother are left alive. The novel he is writing about his father is stalled, the grief and guilt he feels at having survived are too overwhelming. It is as though Arvid has become dislocated from the flow of life. His only human contact is with his Kurdish neighbour, and a woman whom he glimpses in the flat across the street, whose face seems to mirror his own loneliness and loss. Then slowly, the memories begin to return- of his childhood, of his father, of his two younger brothers. He begins to write again. Poignant, restrained, and at times unbearably moving, In the Wake is informed by terrible tragedy, and by man's sense of the beauty of the natural world, at times our only source of solace.

Buy In The Wake by Per Petterson from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780099520740
ISBN-10: 0099520745
Format: Paperback
(200mm x 132mm x 14mm)
Pages: 208
Imprint: Vintage
Publisher: Vintage Publishing
Publish Date: 4-Oct-2007
Country of Publication: United Kingdom

Other Editions - In The Wake by Per Petterson

Book Reviews - In The Wake by Per Petterson

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about In The Wake book by Per Petterson and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Write Review

Author Biography - Per Petterson

Per Petterson was born in 1952 and was a librarian and bookseller before he published his first work, a volume of short stories, in 1987. Since then he has written three novels which have established his reputation as one of Norway's best fiction writers.

Books By Per Petterson

I Refuse by Per Petterson
Paperback / softback, May 2016
Hanne Borchgrevink by Per Petterson
Hardback, January 2016
Ashes in My Mouth, Sand in My Shoes by Per Petterson
Paperback, April 2015
It's Fine by Me by Per Petterson
Paperback, September 2013