Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Get Latest Book News + FREE Shipping. Subscribe to the Boomerang Books Bulletin eNewsletter right now!

Description - Freedom Songs by Yvette Moore

"In the tradition of Mildred Taylor, Moore presents an authentic, disturbing slice of black American history."-- Publisher's Weekly During the spring of 1968, Sheryl Williams, 14, confronts harsh realities while visiting relatives in North Carolina. After witnessing--and then experiencing--acts of prejudice, she understands why Uncle Pete and some neighbors have joined the freedom riders, a group of protesters practicing methods taught by Martin Luther King. Once home in Brooklyn, N.Y., Sheryl decides to collect money for the group by holding a benefit concert with her friends. But will it help to change things?

Buy Freedom Songs by Yvette Moore from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780140360172
ISBN-10: 0140360174
Format: Paperback
(181mm x 112mm x 10mm)
Imprint: Penguin Books Ltd
Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd
Publish Date: 24-Sep-1992
Country of Publication: United States

Book Reviews - Freedom Songs by Yvette Moore

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Freedom Songs book by Yvette Moore and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Write Review


Author Biography - Yvette Moore

Yvette Moore was the author of Freedom Songs.