Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Description - Good Wives by Louisa May Alcott

This is a title from the "Puffin Classic" series. "Good Wives" is the sequel to "Little Women", and sees Beth, Amy, Meg and Jo embarking on married life.

Buy Good Wives by Louisa May Alcott from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780140366952
ISBN-10: 0140366954
Format: Paperback
(198mm x 129mm x 16mm)
Pages: 368
Imprint: Puffin Classics
Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd
Publish Date: 1-May-1995
Country of Publication: United Kingdom

Book Reviews - Good Wives by Louisa May Alcott

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Good Wives book by Louisa May Alcott and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Write Review

Book Review: Good Wives by Louisa May Alcott - Reviewed by (15 Jul 2012)

Good Wives is the second part of Little Women, by Louisa May Alcott, and was written a year after Little Women. It is set some 3 years after Little Women, and starts with Meg’s wedding to John Brooke. It details Jo’s successes with writing, at first with less than literary works and later with her novel, Amy’s social interactions and ambitions to marry well, and Beth’s declining health and eventual death. Laurie, Mr & Mrs March and Mr Laurence all make appearances, and Jo eventually finds true love, but not with her boy Laurie. Trips to Europe and New York, and events in the lives of the March girls all serve as vehicle for the various morals that Alcott wishes to espouse or demonstrate, including how to be a good wife, being true to oneself, turning the other cheek and, being charitable. Amy discovers that morals can be decidedly inconvenient. Living in the 21st century and the age of antibiotics makes it difficult to relate to the circumstances of Beth’s deterioration and death: Beth decides she is dying (forever weakened after her childhood bout of Scarlet Fever) and no-one seems to even try to do anything about it. Events at the end of the novel segue neatly into the next of the series, Little Men.

Author Biography - Louisa May Alcott

Louisa May Alcott (1832-88) was brought up in Pennsylvania, USA. She turned to writing in order to supplement the family income and had many short stories published in magazines and newspapers. Then, in 1862, during the height of the American Civil War, Louisa went to Georgetown to work as a nurse, but she contracted typhoid. Out of her experiences she wrote Hospital Sketches (1864) which won wide acclaim, followed by an adult novel, Moods.She was reluctant to write a children's book but then realized that in herself and her three sisters she had the perfect models. The result was Little Women (1868) which became the earliest American children's novel to become a classic

Customers Also Bought

Boomerang Books customers who bought Good Wives by Louisa May Alcott also bought the following titles:

Books By Louisa May Alcott

Little Women & Good Wives by Louisa May Alcott
Paperback, January 2018
Little Men by Louisa May Alcott
Paperback, November 2017
Sisters by Louisa May Alcott
Paperback, May 2017
Little Women by Louisa May Alcott
Hardback, April 2017