Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Description - The Forsyte Saga, by John Galsworthy

The Forsyte Saga is the first part of John Galsworthy's magnificent, well-loved Forsyte Chronicles, which trace the changing fortunes of the wealthy Forsyte dynasty through fifty years of material triumph and emotional disaster. The Forsyte Saga begins as the nineteenth century is drawing to a close, and the upper-middle classes, with their property and propriety, are becoming a dying section of society. The Forsytes are blind to this fact, clinging to their conventions and 'brilliant respectability'. As dignified Soames Forsyte struggles to uphold the old moral code, his wife Irene's extraordinary beauty causes even more disruption. The bitter feud between them comes to split the Forsyte family for two generations.

Buy The Forsyte Saga, by John Galsworthy from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780141184180
ISBN-10: 0141184183
Format: Paperback
(199mm x 130mm x 40mm)
Pages: 912
Imprint: Penguin Books Ltd
Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd
Publish Date: 3-Apr-2001
Country of Publication: United Kingdom

Book Reviews - The Forsyte Saga, by John Galsworthy

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Forsyte Saga, book by John Galsworthy and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Write Review

Author Biography - John Galsworthy

John Galsworthy, the son of a solicitor, was born in 1867 and educated at Harrow and the New College, Oxford. He was called to the Bar in 1890, but a chance meeting with Joseph Conrad, and the strong influence of his future wife, turned him to writing. A collection of short stories, From the Four Winds (1897), was followed by a novel entitled Jocelyn (1898), The Man of Property appeared in 1906 and, together with In Chancery and To Let, completed the first volume of the Forsyte trilogy, The Forsyte Saga, published in 1922. His playwrighting career began in 1906 with The Silver Box, the first of a long line of plays with social and moral themes. The second Forsyte trilogy, which included The White Monkey, The Silver Spoon and Swan Song, was published as A Modern Comedy in 1929. In 1931 Galsworthy followed the immense success of the Forsyte books with a further collection of stories, On Forsyte Change. The final Forsyte trilogy, containing Maid in Waiting, Flowering Wilderness and Over the River, was published posthumously as The End of the Chapter in 1934. The nine novels in his three Forsyte trilogies are published in Penguins. A television serial of the Forsyte chronicles, presented by the BBC in 1967, received great critical acclaim in Great Britain and over the world.

Books By John Galsworthy

Forsyte Saga by John Galsworthy
Paperback, July 2008
Strife and Other Plays by John Galsworthy
Paperback, May 2008
Over the River by John Galsworthy
Paperback, November 2007
Flowering Wilderness by John Galsworthy
Paperback, November 2007