Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Get Latest Book News + FREE Shipping. Subscribe to the Boomerang Books Bulletin eNewsletter right now!

Description - Hangover Square by Patrick Hamilton

London 1939, and in the grimy publands of Earls Court, George Harvey Bone is pursuing a helpless infatuation with Netta who is cool, contemptuous and hopelessly desirable to George. George is adrift in hell, until something goes click in his head and he realizes that he must kill her.

Buy Hangover Square by Patrick Hamilton from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780141185897
ISBN-10: 0141185899
Format: Paperback
(198mm x 129mm x 17mm)
Pages: 288
Imprint: Penguin Classics
Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd
Publish Date: 28-Jun-2001
Country of Publication: United Kingdom

Book Reviews - Hangover Square by Patrick Hamilton

US Kirkus Review » Suave, clever-clever story of a schizophrenic, his infatuation for a brutal, perverse young miss, and their coterie of dissipates who live in rather seedy circumstances in London's Earl Court. George Harvey Fone, lumberini, gauche, persistent, lonely, has two troubles. One, the "dead" moods which snap on and off and during which he realizes he has to kill Netta. Two, Netta, whom he timorously worships, and who only tolerates him for what he can buy her. How Netta, who "looked like a Byron beauty and was a fish", Peter, her Fascistic friend, go on riding and rooking Bone until finally his schizophrenic alter ego takes its violent revenge. Provocative, and handled with deliberate - acidulous details. (Kirkus Reviews)

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Hangover Square book by Patrick Hamilton and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Write Review

Author Biography - Patrick Hamilton

Patrick Hamilton was one of the most gifted and admired writers of his generation. Born in Hassocks, Sussex, in 1904, he and his parents moved a short while later to Hove, where he spent his early years. He published his first novel, Craven House, in 1926 and within a few years had established a wide readership for himself. Despite personal setbacks and an increasing problem with drink, he was able to write some of his best work. His plays include the thrillers Rope (1929), on which Alfred Hitchcock's film of the same name was based, and Gas Light (1939), also successfully adapted for the screen (1939), and a historical drama, The Duke in Darkness (1943). Among his novels are The Midnight Bell (1929); The Siege of Pleasure (1932); The Plains of Cement (1934); a trilogy entitled Twenty Thousand Streets Under the Sky (1935); Hangover Square (1941); The Slaves of Solitude (1947); and The West Pier (1951), Mr Stimpson and Mr Gorse (1953) and Unknown Assailant (1955), which together comprise The Gorse Trilogy. J. B. Priestley described Patrick Hamilton as uniquely individual ... He is the novelist of innocence, appallingly vulnerable, and of malevolence, coming out of some mysterious darkness of evil.' Patrick Hamilton died in 1962.

Books By Patrick Hamilton

Craven House by Patrick Hamilton
Paperback, July 2017
Gorse Trilogy by Patrick Hamilton
Paperback, July 2017
Twenty Thousand Streets Under the Sky by Patrick Hamilton
Paperback, January 2017
Slaves of Solitude by Patrick Hamilton
Paperback, January 2017