Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Get Latest Book News + FREE Shipping. Subscribe to the Boomerang Books Bulletin eNewsletter right now!

Description - The Forsyte Saga Volume Three, by John Galsworthy

John Galworthy's sweeping trilogy of family fortunes began with the crumbling values of the Victorian Age, moved through the First World War, and now concludes in the 1930's, where more dramatic change is taking place. In this final volume of The Forsyte Saga Galsworthy writes about the lives and loves of the Cherrell family, cousins of the Forsytes. For centuries, the Cherrell sons have left their home at Condaford Grange to serve the state as soldiers, clergymen and administrators, but the 1930's bring uncertainty in a world of rapidly altering morals and unemployment. Galsworthy's portrayal of the effect of political change on individuals shows him as a great social novelist as well as the author of one of the most gripping family sagas ever written.

Buy The Forsyte Saga Volume Three, by John Galsworthy from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780141186849
ISBN-10: 0141186844
Format: Paperback
(198mm x 131mm x 33mm)
Pages: 816
Imprint: Penguin Books Ltd
Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd
Publish Date: 27-Sep-2001
Country of Publication: United Kingdom

Book Reviews - The Forsyte Saga Volume Three, by John Galsworthy

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Forsyte Saga Volume Three, book by John Galsworthy and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Write Review

Author Biography - John Galsworthy

John Galsworthy, the son of a solicitor, was born in 1867 and educated at Harrow and the New College, Oxford. He was called to the Bar in 1890, but a chance meeting with Joseph Conrad, and the strong influence of his future wife, turned him to writing. A collection of short stories, From the Four Winds (1897), was followed by a novel entitled Jocelyn (1898), The Man of Property appeared in 1906 and, together with In Chancery and To Let, completed the first volume of the Forsyte trilogy, The Forsyte Saga, published in 1922. His playwrighting career began in 1906 with The Silver Box, the first of a long line of plays with social and moral themes. The second Forsyte trilogy, which included The White Monkey, The Silver Spoon and Swan Song, was published as A Modern Comedy in 1929. In 1931 Galsworthy followed the immense success of the Forsyte books with a further collection of stories, On Forsyte Change. The final Forsyte trilogy, containing Maid in Waiting, Flowering Wilderness and Over the River, was published posthumously as The End of the Chapter in 1934. The nine novels in his three Forsyte trilogies are published in Penguins. A television serial of the Forsyte chronicles, presented by the BBC in 1967, received great critical acclaim in Great Britain and over the world.

Books By John Galsworthy

Forsyte Saga by John Galsworthy
Paperback, July 2008
Maid in Waiting by John Galsworthy
Paperback, November 2007
Flowering Wilderness by John Galsworthy
Paperback, November 2007
Over the River by John Galsworthy
Paperback, November 2007