1300 36 33 32

Sent down from Oxford in outrageous circumstances, Paul Pennyfeather is oddly surprised to find himself qualifying for the position of schoolmaster at Llanabba Castle. His colleagues are an assortment of misfits, rascals and fools, including Prendy (plagued by doubts) and Captain Grimes, who is always in the soup (or just plain drunk). Then Sports Day arrives, and with it the delectable Margot Beste-Chetwynde, floating on a scented breeze. As the farce unfolds and the young run riot, no one is safe, least of all Paul.

Buy Decline and Fall book by Evelyn Waugh from Australia's Online Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780141187488
ISBN-10: 0141187484
Format: Paperback
(181mm x 111mm x 13mm)
Pages: 224
Imprint: Penguin Classics
Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd
Publish Date: 28-Aug-2003
Country of Publication: United Kingdom


UK Kirkus Review » It must just be appalling coincidence that the funniest and best comic novelists in England this century have been ardent reactionaries. Sometimes, notably in Brideshead Revisited, Waugh's dire Toryism is unbearable, but here, in his first novel, published when he was only 25, he is at his best - inventive, outrageous, hilarious. The book contains the extraordinary Captain Grimes, who is always in the soup - and the wonderful Waugh vignette, when Paul Pennyfeather, in prison, hears about Prendergast's murder from a fellow-inmate during lusty and unique hymn-singing: 'O God, our help in ages past/ Where's Prendergast today?/ What, ain't you heard? E's been done in/ And our eternal home...' Now how on earth did Waugh come up with that idea? Probably because he was a genius. (Kirkus UK)

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Decline and Fall book by Evelyn Waugh and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a member - it's free to sign up!)

Write Review

Author Biography - Evelyn Waugh

Evelyn Waugh was born in 1903 and was educated at Hertford College, Oxford. In 1928 he published his first novel, Decline and Fall, which was soon followed by Vile Bodies (1930), Black Mischief (1932), A Handful of Dust (1934) and Scoop (1938). In 1945 he published Brideshead Revisited and he won the James Tait Black Memorial Prize in 1952 for Men at Arms. Evelyn Waugh died in 1966.

Books By Author Evelyn Waugh

Put Out More Flags by Evelyn Waugh

Put Out More Flags

Paperback, November 2016
Brideshead Revisited by Evelyn Waugh

Brideshead Revisited

Hardback, October 2016
Handful of Dust by Evelyn Waugh

A Handful of Dust

Paperback, August 2014
Helena by Evelyn Waugh


Paperback / softback, December 2012