Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Faced with the mysterious hatred of a boy at school, and afraid that her strange, silent uncle will vanish again before he is reunited with her sick mother, Rage Winnoway longs to return to the land of Valley. One night she manages to dream-travel to Valley, only to find it is being destroyed by a cruel, enchanted winter flowing through a gateway from another world. To save Valley, and her own world, Rage must travel to the unknown land beyond the Winter Door. But both the powerful wizard who created Valley and the courageous Lady Elle have already passed through it, and vanished ...

Buy The Winter Door book by Isobelle Carmody from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780141300962
ISBN-10: 0141300965
Format: Paperback
(198mm x 131mm x 35mm)
Pages: 468
Imprint: Puffin
Publisher: Penguin Books Australia
Publish Date: 31-Jul-2001
Country of Publication: Australia


US Kirkus Review » The second of this fantasy trilogy re-imagines the Persephone legend. After Rage Winnoway's excursion in the alternate world of Valley, her Mam's health improved, her long-lost uncle returned and she has finally looked beyond her beloved dog to find a human friend in the school bad boy. But her life unravels as winter sets in, and when Rage dream-travels to Valley, she finds it gripped by killing snowstorms, now leaking into Rage's home dimension. Reuniting with her companions from her earlier adventure, they venture to a third, bleaker universe ruled by the coldhearted Stormlord, attempting to close the "winter door" that endangers them all. Unfortunately, Rage spends hundreds of pages dithering between worlds before the real threat is revealed; too many climactic events occur offstage, further slowing the narrative pace. Subplots are started and dropped, or abruptly resolved between chapters. Yet Carmody's lyrical writing displays flashes of startling beauty, precisely capturing the piercing pain of loss and the dull ache of despair. While Rage remains annoyingly oblivious, she also grows in empathy and compassion; if the adult characters speak in moralizing platitudes, the dogs-turned-humans remain fresh and lovable. Several clues hint toward a satisfying conclusion for an uneven series. (Fantasy. 10-14) (Kirkus Reviews)

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Winter Door book by Isobelle Carmody and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Write Review

Author Biography - Isobelle Carmody

Isobelle Carmody is one of Australia's most highly acclaimed authors of fantasy. At fourteen, she began Obernewtyn, the first book in her much-loved Obernewtyn Chronicles, and has since written many works in this genre. Her novel The Gathering was joint winner of the 1993 Children's Literature Peace Prize and the 1994 CBCA Book of the Year Award, and Greylands was joint winner of the 1997 Aurealis Award for Excellence in Speculative Fiction (Young Adult category), and was named a White Raven at the 1998 Bologna Children's Book Fair. Isobelle's work for younger readers includes her two series, The Legend of Little Fur, and The Kingdom of the Lost, the first book of which, The Red Wind, won the CBCA Book of the Year Award for Younger Readers in 2011. She has also written several picture books as well as collections of short stories for children, young adults and adults. After living in Europe for more than a decade, these days Isobelle divides her time in Australia between her home on the Great Ocean Road in Victoria, and Brisbane, where she is working on a PhD at the University of Queensland. She lives with her partner and daughter, and a shadow-black cat called Mitya.

Books By Author Isobelle Carmody

Red Queen by Isobelle Carmody

The Red Queen

Paperback, February 2017
Evermore by Isobelle Carmody


Paperback, October 2015
Scatterlings by Isobelle Carmody


Paperback, July 2015
Obernewtyn by Isobelle Carmody


Paperback, April 2014