Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Description - The Portable Arthur Miller by Arthur Miller

This classic collection the only one-volume selection of Arthur Miller's work available presents a rich cross section of writing from one of our most influential and humane playwrights, containing in full his masterpieces The Crucible and Death of a Salesman. This essential collection also includes the complete texts of After the Fall, The American Clock, The Last Yankee, and Broken Glass, winner of the Olivier Award for Best Play of 1995, as well as excerpts from Miller's memoir Timebends. An essay by Harold Clurman and Christopher Bigsby's introduction discuss Miller's standing as one of the greatest American playwrights of all time and his importance to twentieth-century literature. For more than seventy years, Penguin has been the leading publisher of classic literature in the English-speaking world. With more than 1,700titles, Penguin Classics represents a global bookshelf of the best works throughout history and across genres and disciplines. Readers trust theseries to provide authoritative texts enhanced by introductions and notes by distinguished scholars and contemporary authors, as well as up-to-datetranslations by award-winning translators."

Buy The Portable Arthur Miller by Arthur Miller from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780142437551
ISBN-10: 0142437557
Format: Paperback
(197mm x 162mm x 28mm)
Imprint: Penguin Classics
Publisher: Penguin Putnam Inc
Publish Date: 29-Jul-2003
Country of Publication: United States

Other Editions - The Portable Arthur Miller by Arthur Miller

Book Reviews - The Portable Arthur Miller by Arthur Miller

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Portable Arthur Miller book by Arthur Miller and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Write Review

Author Biography - Arthur Miller

Arthur Miller (1915-2005)was born in New York City and studied at the University of Michigan. His plays includeAll My Sons(1947), Death of a Salesman(1949), The Crucible(1953), A View from the BridgeandA Memory of Two Mondays(1955), After the Fall(1963), Incident at Vichy(1964), The Price(1968), The Creation of the World and Other Business(1972) andThe American Clock(1980). He also wrote two novels, Focus(1945), andThe Misfits, which was filmed in 1960, and the text forIn Russia(1969), Chinese Encounters(1979), andIn the Country(1977), three books of photographs by his wife, Inge Morath. His later work included a memoir, Timebends(1987); the playsThe Ride Down Mt. Morgan(1991), The Last Yankee(1993), Broken Glass(1994), andMr. Peter's Connections(1999);Echoes Down the Corridor: Collected Essays, 1944 2000; andOn Politics and the Art of Acting(2001). He twice won the New York Drama Critics Circle Award, and in 1949 he was awarded the Pulitzer Prize. Miller was the recipient of the National Book Foundation s 2001 Medal for Distinguished Contribution to American Letters, the Prince of Asturias Award for Letters in 2002, and the Jerusalem Prize in 2003. Christopher W. E. Bigsbyis a professor of American Studies at the University of East Anglia. He edited the Penguin Classics editions of Miller'sThe Crucible, Death of a Salesman, andAll My Sons."

Books By Arthur Miller

Jane's Blanket by Arthur Miller
Hardback, May 2017
Ride Down Mt. Morgan by Arthur Miller
Paperback, January 2017
Collected Essays by Arthur Miller
Hardback, November 2016
Presence: Collected Stories by Arthur Miller
Paperback / softback, November 2016